Gabriel Medina scores 19.57 at the ASP World Junior Championships

January 14, 2010 | Surfing

Gabriel Medina

Improved three-to-four foot (1 – 1.5 metre) surf graced the sandbanks at North Narrabeen today, allowing for some incredible displays of surfing prowess from the world’s best juniors as the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships fueled by Monster Energy blitzed through Round 2 and the opening 11 heats of Round 3.

Gabriel Medina (BRA), 16, who gained entry into the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships via a wildcard from ASP International, blew the door down today, posting a near perfect 19.57 out of a possible 20 to take down Dean Bowen (AUS) and advance through to Round 4.

“I’m just happy to be here in Australia and competing in this event,” Medina said. “I’m very happy to get through this heat and I hope I can keep going. It is a big event – the biggest – and to win here would mean everything.”

The prodigious goofy-footer produced a unleashed a barrage of new school maneuvers on his forehands, blending effortless aerials and fin throws with powerful rail surfing, going as far to claim the event’s only Perfect 10-point ride in the process.

“The waves are fun and I have a very good board under my feet,” Medina said. “Everyone in this event is a very good surfer I am just focusing on the next heat.”

Medina will take on Cory Arrambide (USA), 20, in Round 4 when competition resumes.

Jadson Andre (BRA), 19, 2010 ASP Dream Tour rookie and last year’s event Runner-Up, inspired by his fellow countryman Medina earlier in the day, went out and posted and impressive 17.93 out of a possible 20 in his Round 3 heat, eliminating VZ Trials winner Ryan Callinan (AUS) from the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships.

“Gabriel (Medina) was going nuts out there today,” Andre said. “It’s great to see the Brazilians surfing really well and I’m excited to keep going in this event. I want to start my year out right before the world tour season s.”

Andre will face Maxime Huscenot (REU), 17, in Round 4 when Billabong ASP World Junior competition resumes.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am for a possible 7am start.

Heat 1: Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.33 def. Brent Savage (AUS) 7.86
Heat 2: Ryan Callinan (AUS) 10.83 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 9.57
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 9.67 def. Made Rhondi (IDN) 6.96
Heat 4: Granger Larsen (HAW) 11.33 def. Jocelyn Puolou (PYF) 6.50
Heat 5: Nat Young (USA) 11.50 def. Takumi Nakamura (JPN) 5.86
Heat 6: Dean Bowen (AUS) 12.93 def. Tonino Benson (HAW) 9.50
Heat 7: Keanu Asing (HAW) 11.84 def. Kiron Jabour (HAW) 11.73
Heat 8: Franklin Serpa (BRA) 16.16 def. Charles Martin (GLP) 9.60
Heat 9: Federico Morais (PRT) 9.04 def. Manuel Selman (CHL) 8.23
Heat 10: Clay Marzo (HAW) 11.43 def. Cody Thompson (USA) 11.26
Heat 11: Medi Veminardi (REU) 9.20 def. Kaito Ohashi (JPN) 8.74
Heat 12: Albee Layer (HAW) 11.07 def. Brent Reilly (USA) 10.06
Heat 13: Maxime Huscenot (REY) 10.66 def. Arashi Kato (JPN) 8.17
Heat 14: Cory Arrambide (USA) 14.17 def. Kyle Lane (ZAF) 5.74
Heat 15: Casey Grant (ZAF) 11.67 def. Luke Davis (USA) 10.00
Heat 16: Jatyr Berasaluce (ESP) 12.93 def. Keito Matsuoka (JPN) 9.06

Heat 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 19.57 def. Dean Bowen (AUS) 9.83
Heat 2: Cory Arrambide (USA) 13.83 def. Klee Strachan (ZAF) 11.50
Heat 3: Clay Marzo (HAW) 13.16 def. Dillon Perillo (HAW) 7.94
Heat 4: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 13.00 def. Davey Cathels (AUS) 10.74
Heat 5: Stuart Kennedy (AUS) 11.67 def. Franklin Serpa (BRA) 9.17
Heat 6: Marc Lacomare (FRA) 11.00 def. Frederico Morais (PRT) 8.94
Heat 7: Casey Grant (ZAF) 9.50 def. Beyrick de Vries (ZAF) 7.93
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) 17.93 def. Ryan Callinan (AUS) 9.83
Heat 9: Owen Wright (AUS) 10.00 def. Garrett Parkes (AUS) 8.50
Heat 10: Maxime Huscenot (REU) 12.27 def. Marco Fernandez (BRA) 11.27
Heat 11: Nat Young (USA) 11.16 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 8.30
Heat 12: Chris Friend (AUS) 9.83 def. Chad du Toit (ZAF) 9.66

Heat 13: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Luciani Heremoana (PYF)
Heat 14: Medi Veminardi (REU) vs. Jatyr Berasaluce (ESP)
Heat 15: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Hiroto Arai (JPN)
Heat 16: Nicolau Von Rupp (DEU) vs. Albee Layer (HAW)

QF 1: Laura Enever (AUS) vs. Felicity Palmateer (AUS)
QF 2: Joanne Defay (FRA) vs. Gabriela Leite (BRA)
QF 3: Alessa Cuizon (HAW) vs. Malia Manuel (HAW)
QF 4: Courtney Conlogue (USA) vs. Pauline Ado (FRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019