Greg Long wins "Ride of the Year" at the 2014 Billabong XXL Awards

May 4, 2014 | Surfing
Gautier Garanx: big in Belharra

Greg Long has won the 2014 Billabong XXL "Ride of the Year", with the wave ridden at Puerto Escondido, Mexico, on the 7th June, 2013.

After being acquired by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the brand known for awarding big wave stunts crowned an almost all-anglophone group of daredevils.

The only exception was Gautier Garanx, from France, who won the "Biggest Wave" award for a bomb caught at Belharra Reef, France, on the 23rd December, 2013. Apart from that, the Billabong XXL is still a very North American event.

"To be here is a dream. All my idols are here, the superstars, and tonight I'm with them. That wave was easily the biggest of my life," says Gautier Garanx.

Greg Long has been collecting awards for a long time. The surfer from San Clemente, California, is still very much in love with his daily job.

"The fear is an underlying motivator and turning the fear into something positive is what big wave surfing does for me. When you're riding a big wave you're so focused, and it's like time goes into slow motion."

The tube and wipeout of the year went to Koa Rothman while the "Biggest Paddle" wave was claimed by Mark Healey. Grant Baker's winning year has been considered the "Best Overall Performance". Keala Kennelly took the women's title.

"It was the first time I'd been back since my face injury there. To come back and overcome my fear and get the best wave was a huge personal triumph for me," adds Kennelly.

2014 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards | Winners

Ride of the Year: Greg Long
Biggest Wave: Gautier Garanx
Tube of the Year: Koa Rothman
Biggest Paddle: Mark Healey
Women's Best Overall Performance: Keala Kennelly
Wipeout: Koa Rothman
Best Overall Performance: Grant "Twiggy" Baker
2013/14 ASP Big Wave World Tour Champion: Grant "Twiggy" Baker

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2023 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers