Haleiwa, Sunset and Pipeline: the 2015 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is on

November 12, 2015 | Surfing
Triple Crown of Surfing: the most prestigious surf series in the world

It's that time of the year. The 2015 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is ready to kick off in Hawaii. The most prestigious surfing series in the planet runs from November 12th through December 20th.

The Hawaiian Pro, World Cup of Surfing, and Pipe Masters, plus a Pipe Masters Invitational (for local male and female chargers). The total prize purse is of $1,185,000.

This year's Triple Crown of Surfing has major implications on the Qualifying Series (QS) marathon and on the Championship Tour (CT) title. Haleiwa and Sunset Beach for the QS campaigners, and Banzai Pipeline for the elite surfers.

The 2016 World Surf League (WSL) top 34 will be comprised of the top 22 ranked surfers on the 2015 CT, the top 10 surfers on the 2015 QS (excluding surfers qualified via CT top 22), and two wildcards. As a result, more than 100 surfers still hope to join the Dream Tour next year.

The 33rd year of the Triple Crown of Surfing will also crown the ultimate surfing champion. Mick Fanning, Filipe Toledo, Adriano de Souza, Gabriel Medina, Julian Wilson and Owen Wright are in contention.

Jordy Smith, who missed the last six events due to injury, will return to the waves to compete in all three jewels of the crown. His last appearance was at the J-Bay Open, in South Africa.

The Hawaiian Pro will be surfed between November 12th-23rd. The Vans World Cup of Surfing is scheduled to run between November 24th and December 5th, and the Billabong Pipe Masters is set for December 8th-20th.

Winners of the Triple Crown of Surfing:

Sunny Garcia (1992, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2004)
Andy Irons (2002, 2003, 2005, 2006)
Joel Parkinson (2008, 2009, 2010)
Derek Ho (1984, 1986, 1988, 1990)
John Florence (2011, 2013)
Kelly Slater (1995, 1998)
Gary Elkerton (1987, 1989)
Michael Ho (1983, 1985)
Julian Wilson (2014)
Sebastian Zietz (2012)
Bede Durbidge (2007)
Myles Padaca (2001)
Mike Rommelse (1997)
Kaipo Jaquias (1996)
Tom Carroll (1991)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers