Huge barrels open the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2014

August 19, 2014 | Surfing
Gabriel Medina: enjoying the party at Teahupoo | Photo: ASP/Kirstin

The world's best surfers experienced one of the biggest competition days ever at the Billabong Pro Tahiti, in Teahupoo, with 10-to-15 foot (3-5 metre) barrels firing down the line.

The Teahupoo test kicked off with a handful of excellent tube riding performances. Kelly Slater didn't waste time and sealed his heat with a total of 16.40 points, including a nine-point ride.

"I couldn't wait to start the heat and get going this morning because it was perfect. I'm so excited that I'm shaking. I need to calm myself down because I'm too excited. It's going to be a great week, and I think it's going to get considerably bigger than this," says Slater.

Mick Fanning had the highest heat total of the day. His pristine barrels were judged at 18.16 points, keeping Mitch Coleborn and Alejo Muniz in a combination situation.

"The conditions are flawless. We can't ask for anything better, and I was stoked to get some good ones. It's so clean and perfect here, and that wave I got was a dream," adds Fanning.

With the heat's highest single-wave score, defending event champion Adrian Buchan was able to put Joel Parkinson and Nathan Hedge in Round 2, in the building swell. Another great result for Buchan.

"Yesterday I hit the bottom really hard and I had to go to the doctor. I really wanted to be part of today, so it's great to be here. It's crazy and watching everyone throwing themselves into these huge waves is intense," concludes Buchan.

Gabriel Medina, Michel Bourez, Taj Burrow, Dion Atkinson, Nat Young, Kolohe Andino, Jadson Andre, Owen Wright, and Kai Otton won their Round 1 heats. Joel Parkinson and Adriano De Souza prevailed in the Round 2 clashes and keep surfing Teahupoo.

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 Results:
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 16.40, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 10.34, Glenn Hall (IRL) 4.53
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.66, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 7.63, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 7.17
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.50, Brett Simpson (USA) 9.17, Adam Melling (AUS) 5.07
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) 18.16, Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 8,47, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 8.10
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.30, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.30, Nathan Hedge (AUS) 15.77
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.33, Tuamata Puhetini (PYF) 12.17, Mitch Crews (AUS) 9.43
Heat 7: Dion Atkinson 15.33 (AUS), Adriano De Souza 13.10 (BRA), Miguel Pupo 10.94 (BRA)
Heat 8: Nat Young (USA) 16.50, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.27, Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.26
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA) 13.76, Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 11.44, Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW) 10.74
Heat 10: Jadson Andre (BRA) 16.64, Julian Wilson (AUS) 15.94, Josh Kerr (AUS) 7.93
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) 6.34, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 5.43, Travis Logie (ZAF) 3.10
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS) 18.24, John John Florence (HAW) 15.83, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 8.73

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Results:
Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.17 def. Taumata Puhetini (PFY) 12.50
Heat 2: Adriano De Souza (BRA) 12.00 vs. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 11.77

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019