Kanoa Igarashi: he won the first World Surf League Championship Tour title for Japan | Photo: Dunbar/WSL

Kanoa Igarashi and Stephanie Gilmore have taken out the 2019 Corona Bali Protected at Keramas, in Bali, Indonesia.

The finals concluded in highly contestable and clean six-to-eight-foot waves.

Igarashi made history by claiming the first Championship Tour (CT) title of his career and Japan's first elite surfing trophy.

En route to winning the third CT event of the season, the Japanese eliminated Kelly Slater and Adrian Buchan. In the final, Kanoa narrowly beat Jeremy Flores.

"I had a terrible first round where I didn’t catch any waves. I thought about the hard work, the time in the gym, and the time surfing alone. Now, it all makes sense," revealed the young Japanese powerhouse.

"I tried to adapt to the conditions and give my all. I surfed the same from the first round to the final, but in the final, I peaked, and I did everything right."

Kanoa Igarashi will likely represent Japan in Tokyo 2020 when surfing makes its debut in the Olympic Games.

Stephanie Gilmore: she won her 30th WSL Championship Tour event at Keramas | Photo: Dorsey/WSL

In the women's competition, Stephanie Gilmore secured her 30th CT title with a Perfect 10 wave. In the decisive heat, Gilmore defeated her longtime rival Sally Fitzgibbons with a long tube ride.

"I knew Sally was going to look for the barrels, so I stuck to my plan and made the best out of the right waves," explained Gilmore.

"At the end, I was thinking about getting an excellent wave. I got that one, closed my eyes, held my line, and then I came up. It was really cool."

The next stop is the Margaret River Pro in Western Australia. The event window kicks off on May 29 and runs through June 9.

2019 Corona Bali Protected | Finals

1. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 15.10
2. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.63

1. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 16.83
2. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 7.00

Top Stories

It's hard to find a secluded surf break these days. But when it seems impossible to be alone and surf with your thoughts, magic happens.

Veteran Pipeline surfer, lifeguard, and actor Tamayo Perry died after being attacked by a shark near Goat Island in Laie, Oahu, Hawaii.

What is a surf park? There are various types of surf parks. The most common are outdoor surf pools.

It's one of the best breaks in the surfing paradise of the Mentawai Islands. Welcome to Lance's Right, one of Indonesia's most perfect waves.