Shane Dorian: descending the mountain at the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau | Photo: Quiksilver

Quiksilver will no longer sponsor and support "The Eddie" at Waimea Bay.

The big wave surfing competition was founded in 1984 to honor the life and career of Eddie Aikau, the surfer-lifeguard who lost his life trying to save the crew members of the iconic voyaging canoe Hokulea.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has been crowning champions for more than three decades whenever waves reach the required minimum of 20 feet in the wave's face.

"The family is proud of the event and appreciated the role Quiksilver played. That relationship ended earlier this year," Seth Reiss, the Aikau family's attorney, says in a statement.

"There were substantial discussions between the family and Quiksilver about how the relationship could be continued, but in the end, no agreement was reached."

The Aikau family says it has nothing to do with money.

It is likely that the 2016/2017 edition won't happen because the permit process was closed in 2015.

The paddle surfing competition has only run nine times since its inaugural edition, and it always takes place somewhere between December 1st and February 29th.

Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau | List of Winners

1985/1986: Denton Miyamura
1986/1987: Clyde Aikau
1989/1990: Keone Downing
1998/1999: Noah Johnson
2000/2001: Ross Clarke-Jones
2001/2002: Kelly Slater
2004/2005: Bruce Irons
2009/2010: Greg Long
2015/2016: John John Florence

Top Stories

Surfers tend to think they perform better than they actually do.

In an emotional message shared on his social media accounts, Filipe Toledo announced his withdrawal from the remainder of the 2024 Championship Tour season.

Barron Mamiya and Caitlin Simmers claimed the 2024 Pipe Pro at Banzai Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii.

Local charger Tiago Stock claimed the 10th annual Capítulo Perfeito at Carcavelos Beach, Portugal, by defeating Rob Machado, Dylan Graves, and Balaram Stack in the final.