The Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational: The Bay calls The Day | Photo: Zak Noyle/The Eddie

The Eddie Aikau Foundation announced the 2019 The Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational with an all-star line-up and new format.

For the 34th annual event, 32 invitees and 18 alternates will be invited, including nine females.

For the first time ever, seven legends will take The Bay in the first heat of the day and be eligible for the Hawaiian Airlines "Best Wave of the Day" and 250,000 Hawaiian Miles.

"The Eddie Aikau Foundation is excited to have the support of our generous sponsors who have joined us in celebrating and honoring the life and legacy of our brother, Eddie," said Solomon Aikau.

"This year, we honor not only the equality of women in the sport but some of the longtime surfers in the industry."

During the three-month holding period from December 1, 2019, through February 29, 2020, if waves reach heights of 20 feet - Hawaiian scale - The Eddie will go for these big wave riders.

This year's sponsor list includes Hawaiian Airlines, Kona Brewing Company, L&L Hawaiian Barbeque, Turtle Bay Resort, and Waimea Valley.

They will help put up the most prestigious surfing competition and opening ceremony for the community and world to witness.

The opening ceremony to kick off the waiting period will be held on Thursday, December 5, featuring a traditional Hawaiian blessing, informational booths, entertainment, and an opportunity for Hawaii's Keiki to visit their schools.

When The Eddie last ran in 2016, it undeniably became the biggest event in competitive surfing.

Over 1.2 million fans watched the livestream from over 200 countries around the world - making it the biggest event in the history of surfing.

2019 The Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational | Invitees and Alternates


Aaron Gold
Andrea Moller
Ben Wilkinson
Billy Kemper
Bruce Irons
Danilo Couto
Dave Wassel
Eli Olson
Emi Erickson
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie O’Brien
Jamie Mitchell
John John Florence
Kai Lenny
Keala Kennelly
Keali‘i Mamala
Kelly Slater
Koa Rothman
Landon McNamara
Lucas Chianca
Luke Shepardson
Makuakai Rothman
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Nathan Florence
Nathan Fletcher
Paige Alms
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Tikanui Smith

Male Alternates

Tyler Larronde
Kyle Shipman
Kohl Christensen
Chris Bertish
Chris Owens
Mike Pietsch
Torrey Meister
Alex Martins
Ryan Seelbach
Matt Bromley
Reef McIntosh
Ezekiel Lau
Jamie Sterling

Female Alternates

Bianca Valenti
Raquel Heckert
Justine Dupont
Silvia Nabuco
Laura Enever


Derek Ho
Garrett McNamara
Jeff Clark
Mike Ho
Mike Parsons
Peter Mel
Tom Carroll

Top Stories

We can't choose our height, and 80 percent of it is genetic. But if you're into surfing, taller and shorter surfers feel noticeable differences in getting acquainted with boards, paddling for, and riding a wave.

Cole Houshmand and Caitlin Simmers have claimed the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

Ryan Crosby is the new chief executive officer (CEO) of the World Surf League (WSL).

Nothing fuels more controversy in and outside the water than awarding scores for waves ridden in competitive surfing.