Invitees announced for the 28th Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

November 5, 2012 | Surfing
Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau: vertical drop time

Bruce Irons, Garrett McNamara, Grant Baker, Greg Long, Jamie O'Brien, John John Florence, Kelly Slater, Shane Dorian, Sunny Garcia and Tom Carroll are some of the surfers invited for the 28th Annual Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, at Waimea Bay, Hawaii.

The one-day big wave invitational surfing event that requires waves measuring 20 feet or more has revelead the list of 2012/13 Invitees and Alternates.

The event holding period begins on December 1, 2012, and concludes on February 28, 2013. The official Opening Ceremony with the Aikau Family will be held on November 29th, at Waimea Bay.

"I don't know if I'm more stoked or more scared," says John John Florence. "Coming up to the day when guys know the swell is coming I'll be super scared, antsy getting my stuff together, super nervous. Hopefully we get a big swell this year.

"My whole life I've been going to the opening ceremony, looking at all the big guys with their big boards, and paddling out to the circle since I was super little".

This year's polling process was turned over to the very surfers who reliably chase the world's most giant swells. Each surfer was able to select their own dream list of Invitees and Alternates.

Each surfer's vote was tallied and the highest ranking 24 surfers became this year's list of Invitees. An additional four regional Invitee selections were chosen by Quiksilver, making up the final four of a total of 28 Invitees.

"You can feel it when you're out there. Guys have been surfing that wave for so long it's crazy! To be able to grow up and kind of learn to surf that wave since I was little, and be able to watch the last couple of Eddies has been crazy", adds Florence.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of eight times, most recently on December 8th, 2009. California's Greg Long won the contest that year.

Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau 2012-13 | Invitees

Alex Gray
Bruce Irons
Carlos Burle
Clyde Aikau
Dave Wassel
Garrett Mcnamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie O'brien
Jamie Sterling
Jeremy Flores
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Kohl Christensen
Kakua Rothman
Mark Healey
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Pete Mel
Ramon Navarro
Reef Mcintosh
Ross Clarke-jones
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll


Danny Fuller
Kalani Chapman
Kahea Hart
Michael Ho
Keone Downing
Brock Little
David Standt
Danilo Couto
Ben Wilkinson
Jamie Mitchell
Keoni Watson
Kealii Mamala
Rusty Keaulana
Gabriel Villaran
Tau Hannemann
Mark Mathews
Evan Valiere
Diego Medina
Rusty Long
Aaron Gold
Myles Padaca
Chris Bertish
Ken Collins
Andrew Marr
Anthony Tashnick
Shawn Dollar
Ross Williams
Derek Dunfee

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: