ISA has announced the winners of the 2010 surfing scholarships

January 27, 2010 | Surfing

2010 ISA scholarships

The International Surfing Association announced the recipients of the 2010 ISA Individual Scholarship Program during the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in New Zealand.

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started in 2007 due to the generous funding from Billabong, The Quiksilver Foundation and Reef Redemption, and the continued support from ISA member nations.

For 2010 the ISA will be issuing 25 scholarships to Under 18 junior surfers from 20 different countries. The ISA received 77 applications from 29 countries for this year’s program.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said about this year's Scholarship Program: “I believe the ISA Scholarship Program is a huge step forward for the ISA to contribute to bettering the lives of junior surfers around the world. Together, we are supporting the dreams and hopes of good students who are also good surfers.”

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as ISA Surfing Ambassadors. The recipients are inspirational human beings, great surfers and avid students who want to succeed in surfing and school.

The 2010 ISA Scholarship Recipients are:
Ana Martina Gainza – Argentina

Armani Green – Jamaica

Belko Contreras – Chile

Benjamin de Castro – Angola
Carlos Cervantes – Mexico

Cesar Reyes – Ecuador

Colby Stanley – Spain

Donghoon Kim – South Korea

Hussain Rasheed – Maldives

Ian Ross Schweden – Trinidad and Tobago

Jarred Veldhuis – South Africa

Jean Carlos Gonzales – Panama

Jean Carlos Mendez - Costa Rica

Juninho Urcia – Peru

Mahorahora McLeod – New Zealand

Mamadou Mbengue - Senegal

Marissa Shaw – United States

Miluska Tello – Peru

Naomi Kabayashi – Japan

Nicolas Bulla – Venezuela

Papi Makanyane – South Africa

Roger Vuuanza - Angola

Ronald Hastings – Jamaica

Tassy Swallow – Great Britain

Tobias Ortells – Argentina