Jack Freestone wins 2011 ASP World Junior Championship

January 15, 2011 | Surfing
Jack Freestone: ASP World Junior champion

Marc Lacomare defeated Nat Young in the final heat of the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships, at North Narrabeen.

The French surfer's result solidified Jack Freestone as the 2010 ASP World Junior Champion.

Lacomare surfed the best out of the two-to-three foot waves available, scoring 14.00 out of 20 heat total to secure the win over the North American young talent.

"I feel great," Lacomare said. "It’s been a great event for me. Congrats to Nat (Young) and Jack (Freestone). "It was a great trip to Australia and thanks to the locals too for sharing their break."

Nat Young accepted the second place with fair play.

"That Final was a little slow, but I don’t think I would have gotten the score on that last ride because I messed up at the beginning. Congratulations to Jack and Marc and I’d also like to say thanks to the Enevers for taking care of me all week", said Young.

Jack Freestone, who earned a colossal victory at the first stop on the ASP World Junior Tour, the Oakley World Pro Junior in Bali, secured the title of 2010 ASP World Junior Champion with an equal 9th place finish at the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships, with the two combined results solidifying the young Australian atop the ASP World Junior Rankings.

"It’s been a mixed roller coaster of emotions watching the heats unfold," Freestone said.

“Big congratulations to all of the guys. It’s a dream come true. I never thought it would come true after placing 9th in this event, but I’m just so happy".

The Top 4 finishers have earned seeds into the Round of 96 of all ASP Prime events for the year while the Top 8 are given seeds into the Round before the last round of all 1-6 ASP Star Series events.

2011 Billabong ASP World Junior Championships | Final

1. Marc Lacomare (FRA) 14.00
2. Nat Young (USA) 11.50

Billabong ASP World Junior Rankings | Top 8

1. Jack Freestone (AUS)
2. Nat Young (USA)
3. Dale Staples (ZAF)
4. Caio Ibelli (BRA)
5. Mitch Crews (AUS)
6. Kiron Jabour (HAW)
7. Marc Lacomare (FRA)
8. Charles Martin (GLP)