Jacob Willcox gets wildcard for Bells Beach

April 14, 2014 | Surfing
Jacob Willcox: drying his fins

Jacob Willcox has been awarded a wildcard for the 2014 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

The Margaret River local will face Kelly Slater and Kolohe Andino in Heat 6 of Round 1.

"I love coming over to Victoria and am thrilled for the opportunity to surf at the highest level. "I really want to put in a good performance against the top seeds and gain as much experience as possible along the way," says Willcox.

Local surfers Cahill Bell-Warren and Zoe Clarke will join Willcox to compete alongside the ASP Top 34 and Top 17 and complete the field for the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

Bell-Warren and Clarke will each take a wildcard into the historic event after winning the Building a Healthier Victoria Trials in small waves at Bells Beach.

With a total heat score of 16.50 to Ringrose's 12.10, the Bells Beach local was proud to have gained the wildcard in front of his friends and family. Bell-Warren will match-up against Joel Parkinson and Adam Melling in Heat 5 of Round 1.

"I have grown up surfing and competing at Bells Beach, from Torquay Boardriders and Surfing Victoria domestic events now through to the highest level of competition in the world, it's an amazing feeling," added Bell-Warren.

On the Women's side of the draw, 17 year-old Zoe Clarke took down Georgia Fish, Cali McDonagh and Ella Williams to gain the wildcard. She will come up against reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion and defending event winner Carissa Moore and rookie Dimity Stoyle.

"It hasn't really sunk in yet. I guess once the competition starts it will probably hit me a bit more! The high tide helped with the waves but there were only really five decent ones in the heat; I was lucky to get two good waves early,", said an elated Clarke.

Alejo Muniz has withdrawn from the competition due to an ongoing injury. ASP replacement surfer Glenn Hall will compete in his place.

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Round 1 Matchups:

Heat 1: Nat Young (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Cahill Bell-Warren (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Jacob Willcox (AUS)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 10: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Owen Wright (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 11: Julian Wilson (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)

Rip Curl Women’s Pro Bells Beach Round 1 Matchups:

Heat 1: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Malia Manuel (HAW), Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Zoe Clarke (AUS)
Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA)
Heat 6: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Lakey Peterson (USA), Paige Hareb (NZL)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019