Jaws dominated the 2015/2016 Big Wave Awards

April 25, 2016 | Surfing
Aaron Gold: he won Paddle of the Year for this ride at Jaws | Photo: Brent Broza/WSL

Shane Dorian's performance at Jaws won "Ride of the Year" at the 2015/2016 World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Awards, held at Grove Theater, in Anaheim, California.

The experienced hellman had two rides at Jaws competing for the most prestigious award in big wave surfing, but it was his last one (February 10th) that won the trophy and $60,000. Dorian also took out the "Men's Overall Performance."

"Just to be nominated with these guys is incredible to me. I thought that all nominated had standout seasons. It was just an amazing season, a lot of people had a lot of opportunities, and I'm extremely grateful," explained Shane Dorian.

"Brock Little told about what happened to him. He told me he paddled out at Waimea Bay on about a 15-18-foot day and suddenly didn't want any part of it, and he knew that's when he was done. That day is coming for me. I'm not there yet, but when it does come, I'm not going to fight it."

Hawaiian surfers dominated the 2015/2016 Big Wave Awards. Jaws won the three most important trophies ("Ride of the Year," "Paddle," and "Biggest Wave") while Teahupoo claimed "Wipeout of the Year" and "Barrel of the Year."

"When I was a little girl, I kept getting told I could not do things because I was a girl. I was told that women can't surf, and I was told this about getting barreled, surfing big waves, surfing Pipeline, paddling in a Jaws, and the list goes on," revealed Keala Kennelly, who won the "Barrel of the Year" award.

"So who I really want to thank is everyone who told me you can't do that because you're a woman. Because that drove me to dedicate my life to proving you wrong and it's been so damn fun."

2016 WSL Big Wave Awards | List of Winners:

Billabong Ride of the Year: Shane Dorian
Videographer: Dan Norkunas

Paddle Award: Aaron Gold
Photographer: Brent Broza

TAG Heuer XXL Biggest Wave Award: Yuri Soledade
Photographer: Jimmie Hepp

Pure Scot Barrel of the Year Award: Keala Kennelly
Photographer: Tim McKenna

TAG Heuer Wipeout of the Year Award: Niccolo Porcella
Videographer: Tim Pruvost

Surfline Men's Overall Performance Award: Shane Dorian

Women's Best Overall Performance Award: Andrea Moller

2015/2016 WSL BWT Champion: Greg Long