Jeremy Flores wins the 2015 Billabong Pro Tahiti

August 26, 2015 | Surfing
Jeremy Flores: the Helmet Man prevails at Teahupoo | Photo: CEstari/WSL

Jeremy Flores defeated Gabriel Medina to claim the 2015 Billabong Pro Tahiti, at Teahupoo.

The "Helmet Man" played a tactical game to secure the second victory on the Championship Tour (CT). Flores opened the final with an excellent 9.87-point ride, a wave that would be critical to success.

"Gabriel is one tactical guy, so I thought I'm going to play his game. He's really aggressive in the water, so I thought I'm going to be even more aggressive. Hats off to him, he's surfed amazing all event, and that was definitely one of the hardest heats," revealed Jeremy Flores.

"I was sitting out there getting nervous, waiting for waves. I reminded myself that even if I lost the heat I'm the luckiest guy in the world to be out here. Surfing is the most beautiful sport in the world and if you're not having fun surfing then there's something wrong. I had to really restart and regain my mindset."

Jeremy Flores' previous CT win was the 2010 Billabong Pipe Masters. Five years later, the French surfer managed to defeat Kelly Slater, CJ Hobgood and Gabriel Medina before raising the Tahitian trophy.

Hobgood, who has announced his retirement from professional surfing, won the Andy Irons Most Committed Performance Award. According to the organizers, the Floridian showed commitment, passion and courage during the whole event.

"It's just been awesome. To have the opportunity to be here and compete and be part of the final day is just so rad. I'm so stoked, I think I'm as stoked as if I won the event," expressed CJ Hobgood.

"It was really, really fun, enjoyable and challenging to be here every year and be part of the learning curve at Teahupoo over the last two decades. That means a lot to me right there. Last time I made the final out here was with Andy when he won and he was really emotional. That moment I shared with him will be with me for the rest of my life."

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2015 | Final

1. Jeremy Flores (FRA), 16.87
2. Gabriel Medina (BRA), 13.20