Jesse Merle-Jones takes 2008 Koastalkaos Pro

May 8, 2008 | Surfing
2008 Koastalkaos Pro: Jesse Merle-Jones won the event

Jesse Merle-Jones (North Shore, HI) has taken out the inaugural Pro in rippable three-to-four foot (metre) surf in Oceanside today over fellow finalists Shey Yates (Carlsbad, CA), Jason Miller (San Clemente, CA) and Sunny Garcia (North Shore, HI „³ San Clemente, CA).

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 1-Star event culminated the weekend’s worth of competition today at Oceanside Harbor’s North Jetty, and despite deteriorating conditions this afternoon, the finalists put on quite a show.

Merle-Jones built momentum throughout the day, securing the day’s high single-wave score of a 9.0 out of a possible 10 in his Quarterfinal heat this morning, and the powerful goofy-footer proved the goods in the hard-fought final, utilizing his compact frame and impressive rail work to come away with the win.

Yates, who slipped through his Semifinal heat thanks to a double interference from Richie Collins (Newport Beach, CA) and Nathaniel Curran (Ventura, CA), remained consistent in the Final, applying progressive fin-free maneuvers en route to enjoying his best ASP WQS event finish to date with a runner-up placing.

Miller, the up-and-coming natural-footer from nearby San Clemente, opened up the Final with an impressive display of power surfing, collecting a 7.0 out of a possible 10 on his opening ride. Unfortunately, the young Californian was unable to secure a second scoring ride, and finished 3rd.

Former ASP World Champion Garcia is on a requalification mission to return to the Dream Tour in 2009 and has so far put in impressive performances around the globe. The Hawaiian’s 4th place finish today puts him at 10th on the ASP WQS ratings and Garcia will look to procure a few more results this season in his bid to regain his seed amongst the world¡¦s best.

The next stop on the 2008 ASP North America Men’s Tour is the ASP WQS 6-Star U.S. Open of Surfing from July 21 - 27, 2008.

Source: ASP World Tour

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2021