Jessi Miley-Dyer claims the Rio Surf Pro International

October 11, 2009 | Surfing

Jessi Miley-Dyer

In an all-Australian Final at Leblon, Jessi Miley-Dyer claimed the Rio Surf Pro International presented by Oakley.

In second place finished the younger surfer Laura Enever, only 17 years old. With the result in the last ASP WQS event of the year, Jessi won US$4,000 and also finished the year in second place with the Hawaiian Coco Ho winning the 2009 ASP Women’s WQS title.

Jessi started the heat with a good right (6 points out a possible of 10), then Enever stayed in the outside waiting for the set, without priority Jessi started to get many waves. Enever got one to receive 4.17 from judges, and with 10 minutes remaining, Jessi founded a great right and with three big turns (8.33 points) left Enever needing a combination of two waves to win the final.

Enever only got another wave (2.67 points) and with 6.84 points (out a possible of 20), Enever finished in second while Jessi with 14.33 points assured the title of the Rio Surf Pro International pres. by Oakley in good three-to-four foot (1-1.5 metre) waves at Leblon.

"I’m very happy because I hadn’t won a contest in a very long time. My last time was in Peru, so I think I have luck here in South America" said Jessi Miley-Dyer. "I’m not going well in the World Tour this year, so I needed to run the WQS to confirm my position to 2010. I knew I needed a good result here in Brazil. It was a difficult week, no waves, them we had big waves for two days in a row, so It was nice, so now I just want to celebrate."

Brazil’s best placed in the WQS in 2009 was Bruna Schmitz in eighth place, Schmitz still in the list for ASP Dream Tour in 2010. But she has to wait the end of the season to celebrate her classification. This because the champion Coco Ho, the fourth placed Paige Hareb of New Zealand and fifth Rebecca Woods from Australia still in the top ten in the World Tour.

In the same situation is the surfer from South Africa, Nikita Robb, current in 9th position. Also still classified the French Lee Ann Curren, the champion of Rio Surf Pro International pres. by Oakley Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Carissa Moore (HAW) and Claire Bevilacqua (AUS).

In the earlier heat, Australian Laura Enever send back home the French Lee Ann Curren, Tom Curren’s daughter, who was already confirmed in the ASP Women’s Tour when she defeated the New Zealand Airin Mason in the quarter-finals. Even with a victory at Rio Surf Pro International pres. by Oakley, Enever would not be abble to reach the top 6 of WQS Ranking.

"I’m very happy with my second place. I was very tired in the final, this was my third heat and the waves conditions are really hard. In the end, I got almost no waves and Jessi was surfing strong all day, then it would be difficult to win the contest over she. Now I just want a break, relax in this beatiful city and then prepare myself to Hawaii" said Enever, who took 2.000 dollars and moved from 31th to 22 position in the ranking.

In third place in the event finished Lee Ann Curren and the Hawaiian Bethany Hamilton, who scored the best wave of the event with 9.33 points.

“Yeah was a good result for me," Hamilton said. "I’m happy in general, but I really wanted to make the Final here to have chances to qualify for the World Tour next year, but I’m glad, I had a good year and next year I will go with everything. I like it here a lot, this is a wonderful city and the waves here was really good for competition."

FINAL OF RIO SURF PRO INTERNATIONAL pres. by Oakley – 14,33 x 6,84 points:
Winner - Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) with 8,33 and 6,00 - US$ 4.000 and 2.500 points
Runner-up - Laura Enever (AUS) with 4,17 and 2,67 - US$ 2.000 and 2.100 points

WOMEN’S SEMIFINALS – 3rd place - US$ 1.700 and 1.800 points:
SF 1: Laura Enever (AUS) 11.66 x 9.27 Lee Ann Curren (FRA)
SF 2: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 8.50 x 3.90 Bethany Hamilton (HAW)

WOMEN’S QUARTERFINALS – 5th place - US$ 900 and 1.600 points:
QF 1: Lee Ann Curren (FRA) 9.33 x 7.74 Airini Mason (NZL)
QF 2: Laura Enever (AUS) 8.33 x 4.07 Tais de Almeida (BRA)
QF 3: Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 12.10 x 10.10 Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
QF 4: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 8.66 x 6.03 Paige Hareb (NZL)

1: Coco Ho (HAW) – 8.740 points – Top 10 – ASP World Tour
2: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) – 8.720
3: Carissa Moore (HAW) – 7.980
4: Paige Hareb (NZL) – 7.840 – Top 10 – ASP World Tour
5: Rebecca Woods (AUS) – 7.540 – Top 10 – ASP World Tour
6: Claire Bevilacqua (AUS) – 7.400
7: Lee Ann Curren (FRA) – 7.240
8: Bruna Schmitz (BRA) – 7.000
9: Nikita Robb (ZAF) – 6.900

2009: Coco Ho (HAW)
2008: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
2007: Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
2006: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
2005: Rebecca Woods (AUS)
2004: Chelsea Hedges (AUS)
2003: Melanie Bartels (HAW)
2002: Pauline Menczer (AUS)
2001: Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
2000: Tita Tavares (BRA)
1999: Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS)
1998: Serena Brooke (AUS)
1997: Rochelle Ballard (HAW) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.