Josh Moniz and Caroline Marks win the 2014 NSSA National Championships

July 5, 2014 | Surfing
Josh Moniz: ready to become a world surfing champion

Josh Moniz and Caroline Marks have taken out the 2014 NSSA National Championships, in three-to-five foot surf, at Huntington Beach, California.

The 18-year old surfer from Honolulu will never forget the day he joined Kolohe Andino, Greg Long, Kelly Slater and Andy Irons in the winner's list of the National Scholastic Surfing Association (NSSA).

The hard-fought final, who also included Seth Moniz, Josh managed to pull a near-perfect wave ride, scored with 9.80 points, to clinch the Open Men's title. "Couldn't be more stoked to win my first NSSA title today! Thank you everyone for all the support," stated Moniz.

In the Open Women's final, Caroline Marks tied Carissa Moore as the youngest person to win a female title. "I can't explain how happy I am right now. I don't think I was ever expected to win," says the 12-year old from Florida.

Carissa Moore holds the record for the most number of titles claimed in the history of the NSSA National Championships. The Hawaiian has collected 11 trophies, in her amateur career. Kolohe Andino leads the male record with nine titles.

The National Scholastic Surfing Association was founded in 1978. This year's NSSA National Championships attracted nearly 1000 surfers to Surf City USA.

2014 NSSA National Champions

Open Men: Josh Moniz
Open Women: Caroline Marks
Open Juniors: Griffin Colapinto
Open Boys: Wyatt McHale
Open Mini Groms: Jett Schilling
Open Girls: Brisa Hennessy
Open Longboard: Nick Anderberg

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: