Kai Lenny crowned first Stand Up World Racing champion

October 24, 2012 | Surfing
2012 Stand Up World Racing: Kai Lenny prepares to get barreled

Kai Lenny, the young Hawaiian waterman, is the first 2012 Stand Up World Racing champion. The title was decide at Turtle Bay, on Oahu's North Shore, Hawaii.

It was a close-fought battle. In the final day of the 2012 Stand Up World Racing Series, there were epic conditions and solid surf providing spectacular moments.

Connor Baxter, Slater Trout, Zane Schweitzer and Eric Terrien had chances to get their hands on the title, but Lenny was ready to defy them in the decisive race. The first world champion for Stand Up Racing has been named.

In the Women's division, Annabel Anderson confirmed a flawless record of wins through the 2012 season and established herself as the undisputed SUP Racing world champion.

All eyes are now on the Stand Up World Surfing Tour, as the title race intensifies leading into the next event in Maresias, Brazil, from the 28th November to the 5th December. The last stage of the 2012 Stand Up World Surfing Tour is a "Location X", a secret event.

Stand Up World Series Finals | Results

1. Kai Lenny (HI)
2. Connor Baxter (HI)
3. Slater Trout (HI)
4. Eric Terrien (FR)
5. Zane Schweitzer (HI)

1. Annabel Anderson (NZ)
2. Halie Harrison (HI)
3. Olivia Piana (FR)
4. Rachel Bruntsch (HI)

SurferToday.com uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.