Kanoa Igarashi: a tasty win in home waters | Photo: Morris/WSL

Kanoa Igarashi and Sage Erickson have claimed the prestigious 2017 US Open of Surfing, in Huntington Beach, California.

There's nothing like winning in front his hometown crowd. Despite the small wave conditions, Igarashi defeated Tomas Hermes with a combination of backhand explorations in the mushy surf on offer.

The American surfer's best waves were the first (9.63), and the last (7.60) rides. And he used the same board throughout the week.

"It's about time! I love Huntington Beach. I learned how to surf here. This is the biggest win of my life. A lot of people kept telling me it was and I just believed in it, and it came true," expressed Kanoa Igarashi.

"This contest means so much to me. It was the first place I ever watched pro surfing. Just sitting on the beach watching guys like Kalani Robb battle it out was incredible."

For the second time in the history of the event, two American surfers raised the US Open of Surfing trophy. The first time was in 1994, the inaugural year, when Shane Beschen, Lisa Andersen won the titles.

Sage Erickson conquered her Championship Tour victory of her career after beating Tatiana Weston-Webb in a low-scoring final.

"I feel like I've been working hard for a moment like this. Something felt really special about this event. I was comfortable and just aiming high. I can't believe I'm here," added Erickson.

"I can't be more proud to be from a place like America - you can feel the energy and all the support from all the people on the beach. It's just amazing to bring my first win home in California and to do it in a place like Huntington couldn't be more of a surreal situation."

2017 Vans US Open of Surfing | Finals

1. Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 17.23
2. Tomas Hermes (BRA) 11.10

1. Sage Erickson (USA) 11.84
2. Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) 9.80

Top Stories

I'm now making a surfing video game called "Surfers Code," but I probably shouldn't be.

Zimbabwe might be a landlocked country, but there's actually a very good wave for surfing here.

He's one of the legends of surfing history who passed away too soon. Sion Milosky was 35 when he rode his final wave.

Italo Ferreira claimed the 2024 Tahiti Pro in firing eight-to-twelve-foot surf at Teahupoo.