Kelly Slater defends premium surf spots on the ASP World Tour

June 2, 2014 | Surfing
Kelly Slater: focusing on the eye of the needle

Kelly Slater believes that there should be premium surf spots delivering double points on the ASP World Tour.

Despite a few hip and lower back injuries, Kelly Slater is ready to attack the 12th world surfing title. The greatest competitive surfer of all time is about to enter his favorite stages on the ASP World Tour: Fiji, Jeffreys Bay, Teahupoo and Lower Trestles.

Slater also considers that there should be premium spots on the Tour. "I really think Fiji and Pipe and possibly Teahupoo and/or J-Bay should be considered "majors" for us and be given double points".

The Floridian surfer underlines that "non-Dream Tour waves can stay, but take a back seat. There would then be a real impact from what everyone considers to be the best surf spots."

Kelly thinks that inconsistent waves and closeout beach breaks like Rio leave everyone open to being taken out unexpectedly by low seeds. The premium stops proposal would "filter" the best, the good, and the average surfers.

More than one-third of the 2014 ASP World Tour has been completed. The leader hasn't won a single event but, as we've seen in the recent past, that that doesn't mean Slater will not celebrate the 12th title.

The Fiji Pro 2014 runs between June 1st-13th, in Tavarua. The deep-water beast of Cloudbreak and perfect high-performance lefthander of Restaurants will serve as locations for this year's event.

Fiji Pro 2014 Round 1 Matchups

Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Michel Bourez (PYF), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Freddy Patacchia (HAW), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Taj Burrow (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Joel Parkinson (AUS), Mitch Crews (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Kelly Slater (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Isei Tokovou (FJI)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Josh Kerr (AUS), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Nat Young (USA), Owen Wright (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: