Kelp waves take down stars at the O'Neill Coldwater Classic

November 2, 2012 | Surfing
Joel Parkinson: enjoying the Steamer Lane cliff

Kelp has taken down Kelly Slater, Julian Wilson, Adriano de Souza, Mick Fanning, Owen Wright, Josh Kerr and Jeremy Flores in Round 1 of the O'Neill Coldwater Classic 2012, in Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz, California.

Nat Young, winner of the O'Neill Coldwater Classic Trials, defeated Kelly Slater and Kolohe Andino in the first waves at his local break, with the help of his backhand attack. Kelp was out in the surf arena, in large quantities.

"I just wanted to be able to enjoy that heat," Young said. "It was a really special heat being able to surf against Kelly Slater. He's been my idol since I started surfing and having him at my local spot and Kolohe (Andino), he's one of my best friends, so I was just really excited".

"The waves weren't really that great in the heat. I just got a couple of 6s and made it. I’m really happy, but I wish we could have had better waves".

Dusty Payne (HAW), 23, current ASP WCT No. 33, contributed to today’s upsets, besting two-time ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, and former Pipe Masters champion Kieren Perrow (AUS), 35, to advance directly through to Round 3.

“I have such a bad seed for this year and coming up against Mick (Fanning) and Kieren (Perrow) in my first heat, it’s not easy, so I’m happy to make it through that heat,” Payne said. “Those guys are two insane surfers. They’ve both been on tour for so long and I look up to those guys a lot. I just got lucky and got two of the best waves in that heat.”

While several top seeds were relegated to Round 2, current ASP WCT frontrunner Joel Parkinson dominated his Round 1 affair from start to finish, amassing the day's highest heat-total.

Parkinson, who won the O'Neill Cold Water Classic in 2000, looked at home at the righthand pointbreak and unloaded an array of seamless carves to notch a 9 point ride on the way to his 16.83 out of 20 heat total.

"This is my first time back here since I won," Parkinson said. "It's a tricky wave, but when they come they're really fun. It feels good to get that Round 1 heat win for sure, but those guys in the red jerseys that lost today, I think you'll see most of them in Round 3".

Gabriel Medina discovered a rare lefthander in his heat and took to the air, lofting a monster air-reverse to notch the day's highest single-wave score of 9.43 out of 10.

O'Neill Coldwater Classic | Round 2 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Jason Collins (USA)
Heat 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 5: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 6: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 11: Miguel Pupo (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)