Lack of swell closes 2009 Pe'ahi World Cup Tow-In Surfing Championship

April 1, 2009 | Surfing

2009 Pe'ahi World Cup Tow-In Championship

The Mormaii Pe’ahi World Cup Tow-In Surfing Championship holding period has officially come to a close.  APT directors and Mormaii officials are disappointed that Mother Nature did not produce the anticipated swell to hold this world class tow-in event but are hopeful that next year will bring greater opportunity for everyone involved.

International competitors from Ireland, Australia, South Africa, Brazil, Chile, Hawaii, California and Mexico, would have been given a 48 hour notice to make it to the world’s most famous Tow-in big wave on Maui’s north shore Pe’ahi, aka: JAWS.

APT is proud to announce that Mormaii will be sponsoring this event again next year and both organizations are working towards a long lasting partnership that will benefit the sport of tow-in surfing and its competitors.

APT Confirmed Athlete List:
Danilo Couto / Rodrigo Resende - BRA
Evarldo 'Pato' Texeira / Yuri Soledad - BRA/HI
Sylvio Mancusi / Haroldo Ambrosio - BRA
Critobal Gonzales / Carlos Nogales – CHI/MEX
Grant 'Twiggy' Baker / Greg Long - SA/CA
Jamie Mitchell / James Watson - AUS
Scott Chandler / Chuck Patterson - CA
Carlos Burle / Eraldo Gueiros - BRA
Alastair Mennie / Andrew Cotton - IRE
Tyler Fox / Shane Desmond - CA
Makua Rothman / Ikaika Kalama - HI
Mike Parsons / Brad Gerlach - CA
Garrett McNamara / Kealii Mamala - HI
Jamie Sterling / Mark Visser - HI
Sion Milosky / Dustin Barca - HI
Myles Padaka / Felipe Espiritu - HI
Archie Kalepa / Buzzy Kerbox - HI
Peter Mel / Bruce Irons – CA/HI
Ian Walsh / Shane Dorian - HI
Jamie O'Brian / Troy Alotis – HI
Anthony Tashnick / Darryl 'Flea' Virostko - CA
Russell Smith / Tyler Smith - CA
Kaleo Amadeo /  Nalu Wallace – HI (Wild Card)
Shaun Lopez / Campbell Farrell – HI (Wild Card)

Alternates List:
(in alphabetical order by first partner name)
Dan Moore / Mark Anderson – HI
Doug Young / Sierra Emroy – NZ/HI
Dylan Longbottom / Laurie Towner - AUS
Ed Guzman / Juao Jabour- CA/BRA
Kalani Chapman / Ezira Sitt – HI
Ollie Richardson / Dan Hasselschwert – OR
Ramon Navarro / Christian Merrello - CHI
Titus Kinimaka / Kalani Vierra - HI
Zach Wormhoudt / Jake Wormhoudt – CA

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: