Large swell greets the Volcom Fiji Pro 2012

June 1, 2012 | Surfing
Adriano de Souza: ready to eat Restaurants

The Volcom Fiji Pro is gearing up in the South Pacific and the world's best surfers already know their opponents in the first round of waves of the competition. Cloudbreak and Restaurants are waiting.

The event will be getting ton of swell for the first week of contest, according to the official forecasters. Long range charts point to a larger southwest swell for the 8th–10th period.Adriano de Souza is one of the few surfers who competed in the elite tour’s last installment of the Fiji event, finishing Equal 3rd in 2008.

"My experience in Fiji is one the best I’ve ever has since being on tour," De Souza said. "Unfortunately, I don’t go there often, but I always try to sit in the best spot and catch the best waves. I always watch Kelly (Slater) and the Hobgood brothers (C.J. and Damien). I’m always watching what those guys are doing out there and then try to apply it to my surfing.

Owen Wright is one of the surfers who have yet to compete at the famed South Pacific lefthanders, and although his experience there is limited, all eyes will be on the progressive goofy-footer come this weekend.

"My past experience with Fiji is a bit limited," Wright said. "I’ve only been there once before on a shoot with Rip Curl, I didn’t really get to surf as much as I would have liked due to an ankle injury. When I heard the tour was heading back to Fiji after a few years off, I was frothing. I love surfing hollow lefts in warm water."

Wright will take on Tiago Pires and Yadin Nicol in the opening round of the Volcom Fiji Pro. Mitch Coleborn and Isei Tokovu have been granted wildcards into the Volcom Fiji Pro.

Jadson Andre and Dusty Payne have withdrawn from the event due to injury. They will be replaced by Willian Cardoso and Fredrick Patacchia, respectively.

Volcom Fijo Pro 2012 | Round 1 Match-Ups

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Brett Simpson (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Isei Tokovu (FIJ)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Michel Bourez (PYF), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)