Lay day called at the Billabong Pipeline Masters

December 9, 2009 | Surfing

2009 Billabong Pipeline Masters

With lumpy 10-to-15 foot (4 – 5 metre) surf breaking irregularly across the seven mile miracle this morning, event organizers have decided to call a lay day for the Billabong Pipeline Masters.

Event No. 10 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pipeline Masters also marks the third and final jewel in the prestigious Vans Triple Crown of Surfing (an ASP Specialty Series), and will look to get underway in improving conditions over the next several days.

“The swell is still too big for Pipeline today so we’ve called the event off,” Randy Rarick, Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Contest Director, said. “We’re expecting conditions to slightly and clean up so it’s looking likely that we’ll tomorrow.”

Pipeline holds no shortage of drama this season as the two-man race for the 2009 ASP World Title will culminate before the event finishes as the dreams of several would-be qualifiers for the 2010 ASP Dream Tour will be decided over its hallowed reefs.

Surfline, official foreers for the Billabong Pipeline Masters, are calling for today’s of swell to slowly decline over the next several days meaning there will be plenty of surf on offer to kickstart the final event of the 2009 ASP World Tour season.

Heat 1: Jihad Khodr (BRA) vs. Gavin Gillette (HAW)
Heat 2: Gabe Kling (USA) vs. Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 3: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Marcus Hickman (HAW)
Heat 4: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Nathaniel Curran (USA) vs. Liam McNamara (HAW)
Heat 6: David Weare (ZAF) vs. Hank Gaskell (HAW)
Heat 7: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs. Reed McIntosh (HAW)
Heat 8: Nic Muscroft (AUS) vs. Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 9: Michael Picon (FRA) vs. Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 10: Shane Dorian (HAW) vs. Kamalei Alexander (HAW)
Heat 11: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Jonah Morgan (HAW)
Heat 12: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Flynn Novak (HAW)
Heat 13: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Sion Miloski (HAW)
Heat 14: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Danny Fuller (HAW)
Heat 15: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Mason Ho (HAW)
Heat 16: Phillip MacDonald (AUS) vs. Jamie O’Brien (HAW)

Heat 1: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 2: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. TBA
Heat 3: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. TBA
Heat 4: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. TBA
Heat 5: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 6: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. TBA
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 8: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 9: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 10: Chris Ward (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. TBA
Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. TBA
Heat 13: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 14: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. TBA
Heat 15: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 16: Drew Courtney (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 1: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 3: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 4: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA
Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 7: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 10: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 11: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA
Heat 13: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 15: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. TBA

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019