Lay day in the Rip Curl Pro Search Portugal

October 19, 2009 | Surfing

Tiago Pires and Mick Fanning

After assessing conditions throughout the morning, event organizers have opted to call a lay day for the Rip Curl Pro Search with only inconsistent two-to-three foot (1 metre) surf on offer at Supertubos.

Event No. 9 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Search has yet to decide whether to run the traditional or new competition format, and will gauge conditions on offer before making a decision.

“We’ve watched conditions most of the morning and it’s not at the level we want it to be to call it on,” Damien Hardman, Rip Curl Pro Search Contest Director, said. “We’re expecting plenty of swell this week and don’t want to send the guys out in less-than-ideal conditions. We’ll be back tomorrow morning at 8am for a possible 8:30am start.

Surfline, official foreers for the 2009 Rip Curl Pro Search, are calling for the shoulder-high surf to dissipate throughout the day before a major Northwest swell s filling in tomorrow afternoon and into Wednesday and Thursday.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 8am for a possible 8:30am start.

Heat 1: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tim Boal (FRA), Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 2: Taylor Knox (USA), Heitor Alves (BRA), David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 4: Taj Burrow (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 6: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Patrick Gudaudkas (USA)
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Dean Morrison (AUS), David Luis (PRT)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Mick Campbell (AUS), Justin Mujica (PRT)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Chris Ward (USA), Michael Picon (FRA)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Roy Powers (HAW), Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 13: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 14: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Josh Kerr (AUS), Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 15: Dane Reynolds (USA), Greg Emslie (ZAF), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 16: Kai Otton (AUS), Dustin Barca (HAW), Drew Courtney (AUS)

Heat 1: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 2: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 3: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 4: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 5: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 6: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 7: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 8: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. David Luis (PRT)
Heat 9: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Justin Mujica (PRT)
Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 11: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)
Heat 12: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 13: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 14: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 15: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 16: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019