Lee Wilson claims 2011 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang

August 10, 2011 | Surfing
Lee Wilson: he knows the place

Lee Wilson has conquered the 2011 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang, at Bali’s Banzai Pipeline. In an amazing display of strategic tube-riding prowess, the local star used his knowledge to barrel his way to victory.

The world’s best tube riding specialists included runner up and previous Rip Curl Cup winner Made “Bol” Adi Putra, Australia’s Anthony Walsh, and first time finalist Mustofa Jeksen in a gripping 45 minute final.

"This is the best win I have ever had, hands down. I truthfully didn’t give myself much of a chance to win today. It’s a left, and there were some of the best tube riders in the world out there, guys I have seen take down WCT surfers, so I was just out there thinking that I would relax and just go for some big barrels and have fun", Wilson said.

The 45-minute grand final was the culmination of a day filled with the kind of drama that couldn’t possibly have been scripted. Sunrise saw solid 6-foot sets blasting into the razor sharp Padang-Padang reef, prompting the long-awaited “ON” call just into the fourth week of the five-week waiting period. Heat 1 was extremely slow, with Irelands Fergal Smith only managing one short takeoff, before the ocean awakened again to start pumping again.

A bizarre situation in Round 3 had Makua Rothman paddling up the inside and dropping in from behind on Mega Semadhi, then both of them slotting into the barrel together before it spit them out into the channel. Rothman got the penalty and Mega advanced, but none-the-less a very amazing display.

Then just after Round One was completed, the clouds that had gathered began to drizzle and the onshore winds began to make a mess of the lineup, so a break was called to see what the weather would do next.

After about an hour, the sun began to burn out the clouds and the Indian Ocean wave machine began once again to pump out some of its world famous Padang-Padang barrels, which continued non-stop until long after the sun went down.

In addition to having his name inscribed on the perpetual Rip Curl Cup Trophy and getting his Rp 50 million in cash, Lee Wilson also received a brand new Kawasaki 150 D-Tracker motorcycle from Kawasaki Indonesia for being the top local surfer in the Rip Curl Cup.

Rip Curl Cup 2011 Contest Results:

1. Lee Wilson (Bali)
2. Made Adi Putra (Bali)
3. Anthony Walsh (Australia)
4. Mustofa Jeksen (Bali)