Malibu wave riders recapture the MSA Classic Invitational 2013

September 10, 2013 | Surfing
Tom Curren: taking his boat to the waters of Malibu

The Malibu Surfing Association (MSA) recaptured the MSA Classic Invitational 2013 title, at the famous First Point, Surfrider Beach, Malibu.

The team overall win was MSA's first of the year and marks the first time in three years that MSA won its home contest.

With warm weather and small conditions throughout the weekend, MSA team members made the most of their local knowledge with Vince Felix and Dave Wise winning individual titles.

But the standout surfer of the weekend was Hawaiian Longboard Federation's Honolua Blomfield, winning her division on Sunday while placing in the finals in two specialty events.

With small waves starting the Invitational on Friday, Malibu saw one event return to its beaches and the introduction of another. MSA hosted the second annual Malibu Noseriding Championship, a noseriding-only event for elite men and women surfers.

In a final of four noseriding greats and up-and-comers, MSA's Chad Marshall took first, Honolua Blomfield second, MSA's Zander Hartman third, and Ricky Cunningham fourth.

MSA also paired with Bing Surfboards and Seea to bring California's only longboarding event for professional and elite women - the Women's Logger Open - to the MSA Classic Invitational. Jen Smith took first place in what everyone hopes will become an annual event.

The SurfAid Cup Malibu was blessed with world champions and luminaries of the surfing community. Tom Curren and Taylor Jenson, as well as big wave rider Greg Long and local legend Allen Sarlo were on.

The MSA Classic Invitational is the United States' most prestigious club-level surfing contest and premier event in the Coalition of Surfing Clubs annual series. It was first hosted by MSA at Surfrider Beach in 1963.

MSA Classic Invitational 2013 | Results

1. Malibu Surfing Association (MSA)
2. Hawaiian Longboard Association (HLA)
3. Windansea Surf Club (WSC)
4. Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club (OLSC)
5. Hope Ranch Surf Club (HRSC)
6. Ventura Surf Club (VSC)
7. Virginia Longboard Federation (VLF)
8. Malibu Boardriders Club (MBC)
9. Cardiff Surf Club (CSC)
10. Noosa Malibu Club (NMC)