Margaret River Boardriders Club wins 2017 Surf League

September 25, 2017 | Surfing
Jethro Hedstrom: he is a member of the Margaret River Boardriders Club | Photo: Surfing WA/Majeks

The Margaret River Boardriders Club has taken out the 2017 Surf Boardroom Surf League, at Scarborough Beach, in Western Australia.

The Surf League is the longest running and most prestigious interclub surf contest in the Golden State. The first edition dates back to 1986. Surf Boardroom has been supporting it for 25 consecutive years.

Australia probably has one of the most active surf club scenes in the world and, in this event, nine regional and metropolitan teams from City Beach, Two Rocks, Geraldton, Cowarmaup Bay, Trigg Point, Contacio, Yallingup, Scarborough, and Margaret River proved it clearly.

The boardriders clubs brought six of their best surfers to compete in challenging ocean conditions. For the first time in 31 years, there were no metropolitan clubs in the final.

In an intense and tight clash, Jerome Forrest, Jack Haslau, Jethro Hedstrom, Andrew Sheridan, Jed Mattinson and Ben Spence led their Margaret River Boardriders Club to victory.

"It's been an unbelievable day. I couldn't be happier with how the boys performed. I think I've competed in almost every one of these events and they just keep getting better. The waves have been tricky, but at least we had some solid swell, and we're stoked to come away with the win," said Sheridan, the team's captain.

Andrew Sheridan also won the prestigious Perry Hatchett Medal, an award for the best surfer in the final.

"Perry Hatchett is a legend, and I'm stoked to help Margs get the win. I've spent a lot of time with Perry filming over the past year, and he'll be stoked to hear I won his award."

2017 Surf Boardroom Surf League | Results

1. Margaret River Boardriders
2. Yallingup Boardriders
3. Geraldton Boardriders
4. Cow Bay Boardriders
5. Trigg Point Boardriders
6. City Beach Surfriders
7. Scarborough Boardriders
8. Contacio Boardriders
9. Two Rocks Boardriders