Margaret River Pro: will it be three in a row for Wilkinson?

April 6, 2016 | Surfing
Margaret River Pro: Gabriel Medina finds a cave | Photo: Cestari/WSL

It's the third and final stage of the Australian leg. The 2016 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro kicks off with an unexpected Championship Tour (CT) leader.

Matt Wilkinson, grand winner of the first two events of the pro surfing season, will be eyeing a historical third consecutive win on the Dream Tour. It might be asking too much, but the Australian will definitely go for it.

Western Australia provides some of the most challenging surf breaks in the entire country. And the world's best surfers should be ready to tackle the adversities brought by the Margaret River Main Break, the newly added North Point, and the iconic The Box.

"I've been working on a lot of little things, but if you improve 10 percent across 10 different parts of yourself, then that makes you a 100 percent better surfer. I'm looking to keep it rolling. I love West Oz, and I'll be getting out there as soon as possible," explains Matt Wilkinson.

Jack Robinson has been awarded a wildcard into the main event. The young Australian is ready to disturb the status quo, and bring some stars down to the carpet.

"I feel very privileged to be chosen "I can't wait for the show to begin, and I'm looking forward to competing on home turf and also considering the extra locations available this year," added Robinson, who is not new to big waves.

Adriano de Souza is the defending event champion. Despite a relatively low-key start, the Brazilian wants to step up his game towards a second world title.

"It's a very interesting year already, and anyone can beat anyone. I love coming to Western Australia and enjoy surfing all the different spots we have available for the event. Hopefully, we get great conditions," concluded De Souza.

Drug Aware Margaret River Pro 2016 | Men's Round 1 Match-Ups

Jeremy Flores (FRA), Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Davey Cathels (AUS), TBD
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), TBD
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Michel Bourez (PYF), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Nat Young (USA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Matt Banting (AUS)
Joel Parkinson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
John John Florence (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers