No waves at the O'Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland

April 16, 2010 | Surfing

Thurso, Scotland: no waves but plenty of rocks

Competition was today postponed due to insufficient wave quality and size. After several calls throughout the morning and then a final call this afternoon at Thurso East event officials decided not to start round two of the US$145.000 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 6-Star men’s O'Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland.

Poor inconsistent waves in the 3ft (1m) range were on offer this morning at Brims Ness but with a building on-shore wind wave quality was poor. With an expected new swell on the way and having the event totally mobile another afternoon call was made but proved fruitless as only 1-2ft (0.5m) waves were wrapping down the point at Thurso East.

Contest director Matt Wilson and local surfer Andy Bain were monitoring conditions constantly knowing that in this region of Northern Scotland weather patterns can change rapidly. Being the most northern and arguable the coldest surfing event on the planet the O’Neill CWC has built a reputation weather wise of not quite knowing what is just around the corner.

Wilson summed up how they are approaching the remainder of the event and the plans for running over the next few days.

“We made the afternoon call with not the expectation of running but tomorrow we definitely expect the swell to build over night and hopefully we will wake up tomorrow morning with some good waves at Thurso East. “

“It looks like the wind is going to be a little bit of a problem,” continued Wilson. ”Side to on-shore but I think everyone realises that we tried our best today however it is looking ok for the next few days over the weekend.”

With still 4 days remaining in the official waiting period and with the mobility and number of locations available for the CWC Scotland all is set to unfold when competition resumes tomorrow with a possible start of round two of competition.

Current ASP World Tour surfer Blake Thorton (AUS) who placed third here last year and won the overall O’Neill CWC Series is happy with the extra time he has to adapt to the conditions.

Having started the year slowly Thorton is hoping for another big result in Scotland which will start when he faces T.J Barron (HAW), and fellow Australians Jarrad Sullivan and Anthony Walsh.

“Everyday that you don’t surf in competition it just gives you that extra day to get used to the weather and the conditions so you get more acclimatised and comfortable. I’m still a little jet-lagged so with another good night’s sleep I’ll be 100 percent.”

“It hasn’t been the ideal start to the year on either tour,” continued Thorton. “I like it up here and I‘ve done well before so looking for a strong result. I won in (CWC) South Africa and come third here and won the overall series so if you can take that bonus home with you every year it would be great.”

Heat 1: Blake Thorton (AUS), T.J Barron (HAW), Jarrad Sullivan (AUS), Anthony Walsh (AUS).
Heat 2: Nathaniel Curran (USA), Brad Ettinger (USA), Charlie Carroll (HAW), Shaun Joubert (ZAF).
Heat 3: Hodei Collazo (EUK), Blake Jones (USA), Cadey Grant (ZAF), Borja Agote (EUK).
Heat 4: Austin Ware (USA), Eric Geiselman (USA), Abdel El Harim (MAR), Gordan Fontaine (FRA).
Heat 5: Joan Duru (FRA), Patrick Beven (FRA), Hugo Savalli (REU), Medi Vemenardi (REU).
Heat 6: Brian Toth (PRI), Diego Rosa (BRA), Kevin Sullivan (HAW), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF).
Heat 7: Glen Hall (IRL), Richard Christie (NZL), Brendon Gibbens (ZAF), Billy Stairmand (NZL).
Heat 8: Royden Bryson (ZAF), Tim Reyes (USA), Txaber Trojaola (EUK), Nicolaus Rupp (DEU).
Heat 9: Chris Ward (USA), David Weare (ZAF), Romain Laulhe (FRA), Jatyr Soares (ESP).
Heat 10: Nic Muscroft (AUS), Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Miguel Ximenez (PRT), Balaram Stack (USA).
Heat 11: Brandon Jackson (ZAF), Dylan Graves (PRI), Ryah Arthur (USA), Rowan Aish (NZL).
Heat 12: Cory Lopez (USA), Shaun Cansdell (AUS), Parrish Byrne (AUS), Adrien Toyon (REU).
Heat 13: Yadin Nicol (AUS), Jarrad Howse (AUS), Marc Lacomare (FRA), Jeronimo Vargas (BRA).
Heat 14: Alain Riou (PYF), John John Florence (HAW), Frederic Robin (REU), Russell Malony (AUS).
Heat 15: Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Marlon Lipke (DEU), Izuki Tanaka (JPN), Indar Perez (EUK).
Heat 16: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Mason Ho (HAW), Christophe Allary (REU), Sam Lamiroy (GBR).
Heat 17: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Nat Young (USA), Russel Winter (GBR), Chase Wilson (USA).
Heat 18: Eneko Acero (EUK), Adam Robertson (AUS), Chris Noble (SCO), Matt Johnson (USA).
Heat 19: Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Yuri Sodre (BRA), Ricardo dos Santos (BRA), Gabriel Villaran (PER).
Heat 20: Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Jack Perry (AUS), Eric Rebiere (FRA), Jay Quinn (NZL).
Heat 21: Mickey Picon (FRA), Bernardo Miranda (BRA), Justin Mujica (PRT), Damien Chaudoy (REU).
Heat 22: Dyyan Neve (AUS), Joao Guedes (PRT), Alan Stokes (GBR), Nick Vasicek (AUS).
Heat 23: Rudy Palmboom (ZAF), Romain Cloitre (FRA), Haritz Mendiluze (EUK), Killian Garland (USA).
Heat 24: Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Bruno Rodrigues (BRA), Tim Boal (FRA), Pablo Gutierrez (ESP).


Heat 9: Jeronimo Vargas (BRA) 13.76, Frederic Robin (REU) 10.17, Freddie Meadows (SWE) 6.20, Mark Boyd (SCO) 4.60
Heat 10: Russell Malony (AUS) 12.67, Indar Unanue (EUK) 6.73, Omer Bar (ISR) 6.73, Love Hodel (HAW) 6.60
Heat 11: Sam Lamiroy (GBR) 10.93, Chris Ward (USA) 10.77, Matt Pagan (USA) 9.67, Igor Munian (EUK) 8.04
Heat 12: Chris Noble (SCO) 10.40, Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 8.34, Lyndon Wake (GBR) 2.90, Makuakai Rothman (HAW) no show
Heat 13: Gabriel Villaran (PER) 11.23, Matt Johnson (USA) 9.26, Bobby Morris (USA) 7.83, Greg Hosken (MYS) 1.20
Heat 14: Jay Quinn (NZL) 14.10, Damien Chaudoy (REU) 12.13, Matthew Bromley (ZAF) 9.04, Cory Arrambide (USA) no show
Heat 15: Nick Vasicek (AUS) 9.34, Haritz Mendiluze (EUK) 5.37, Dave Mailman (USA) 4.17, Erik Furuholmen (USA) 1.83
Heat 16:Killian Garland (USA) 13.50, Pablo Gutierrez (ESP) 12.94, Junior Faria (BRA) 12.33, Mark Cameron (SCO) 6.70

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers