Parrish Byrne wins the Billabong Tsurigasaki Pro in Japan

September 29, 2009 | Surfing

Parrish Byrne

The 2009 ASP WQS 4-Star Billabong Tsurigasaki Pro recommenced this morning for the final day at Tsurugasaki Beach with the Quarterfinals kicking things off this morning.

The local weather at Tsurigasaki Beach, Ichinomiya was fair this morning. The surf conditions were two-to-four feet (1 to 1.5 metre) with onshore winds. Event director Toshiyuki Tanaka called this morning at 8am to get the final day’s action underway.

Two Japanese, one Hawaiian, and one Australian: Parrish Byrne (AUS), Izuki Tanaka (JPN), Teppei Tajima (JPN), and Joel Centeio (HAW) made it to the Semifinals.

In Semifinal 1, Byrne overcame Tanaka to move to the Final. In Semifinal 2, Tajima overcomes Centeio to move to Final.

Teppei Tajima held the lead for the majority of the Final with Parrish Byrne. With only a few minutes remaining, Byrne fights back strong with an excellent 9.33 to take the lead over Tajima. Tajima strikes hard back with an excellent 9.00, but not enough to take the lead once again. With a total point of 16.83 to 16.50 for Tajima, Parrish Byrne of Australia is crowned the 2009 Billabong Tsurigasaki Pro Champion.


1 -Parrish Byrne (AUS) $12000 1500 points
2 - Teppei Tajima (JPN) $5000 1313 points
3 - Izuki Tanaka (JPN) $3400 1125 points
Joel Centeio (HAW) $3400 1125 points

  • As the novel coronavirus Covid-19 nightmare comes to an end in China, local surfers are starting to get back to the beach.
  • Are you daydreaming about a perfect day of surfing and endless rides? Here's a simple step-by-step tutorial on how to draw an ocean wave.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: