Pe'ahi World Cup Tow-In Surfing Championship is ready to kick off

January 13, 2009 | Surfing

Pe'ahi 2009

The Association of Professional Towsurfers (APT) is proud to announce that the holding period for the Mormaii Pe’ahi World Cup Tow-In Surfing Championship has begun and will run thru March 31, 2008.

This will be the last scheduled event of the 2008/2009 tour series and APT will crown its second annual World Champion tow-in surfing team.  Makua Rothman and Ikaika Kalama of Oahu, Hawaii are the current 2007/2008 World Title Champions and they’ll be competing once again in hopes of another title.

The Mormaii Pe'ahi World Cup Tow-In Championship will be covered from the land, air and sea for a High Definition Live Event production.  Big Vision Studios, Inc. has partnered with the APT to deliver a turnkey High-Definition Live Event production, media and digital marketing services.

With award winning crews, the largest High-Definition equipment rental service in Las Vegas and a state of the art stage and studio in Burbank, California. Big Vision Studios, Inc. is uniquely suited to deliver multi-media services to the APT.

International competitors from Ireland, Australia, South Africa, Brazil, Chile, Hawaii, California and Mexico, will be given a 48 hour notice to make it to the world’s most famous tow-in wave on the North Shore of Maui called Pe’ahi, known as aka: JAWS.

“We will have the most exciting and successful tow-in event the world has ever seen. We have very talented and experienced competitors and they’re ready for Pe’ahi, the most powerful wave mother nature can offer. Put the two together and watch what happens!”- Says, Rodney Kilborn APT’s Vice President and Event Director. 

Currently the event organizers are watching a very large storm system that could potentially deliver wave heights in the 18’-20’ Hawaiian scale by the 15th.
Sean Collins and Kevin Wallis of are the official APT World Tour forecasters and they are keeping a very close watch on it at this time.

The invitees will compete for a $50,000 purse prize broken down as follows: 1st Place $20,000 – 2nd Place $10,000- 3rd Place $6,000 – 4th Place $4,000 – 5th- 24th Place each team to receive $500.

APT Confirmed Main List:
Danilo Couto / Rodrigo Resende - BRA
Evarldo Texeira / Yuri Soledad - BRA/HI
Sylvio Mancusi / Haroldo Ambrosio - BRA
Critobal Gonzales / Carlos Nogales – CHI/MEX
Grant Baker / Greg Long - SA/CA
Jamie Mitchell / James Watson - AUS
Scott Chandler / Chuck Patterson - CA
Carlos Burle / Eraldo Gueiros - BRA
Alastair Mennie / Andrew Cotton - IRE
Tyler Fox / Shane Desmond - CA
Makua Rothman / Ikaika Kalama - HI
Mike  Parsons / Brad Gerlach - CA
Garrett McNamara / Kealii Mamala - HI
Jamie Sterling / Mark Visser - HI
Sion Milosky / Dustin Barca - HI
Myles Padaka / Felipe Espiritu - HI
Archie Kalepa / Buzzy Kerbox - HI
Peter Mel / Bruce Irons – CA/HI
Ian Walsh / Shane Dorian - HI
Jamie O'Brian / Troy Alotis – HI
Anthony Tashnick / Darryl Virostko - CA
Russell Smith / Tyler Smith - CA
Kaleo Amadeo /  Nalu Wallace – HI (Wild Card)
Shaun Lopez / Campbell Farrell – HI (Wild Card)

Alternates List:
(in alphabetical order by first partner name)
Dan Moore / Mark Anderson – HI
Doug Young / Sierra Emroy – NZ/HI
Dylan Longbottom / Laurie Towner - AUS
Ed Guzman / Juao Jabour- CA/BRA
Kalani Chapman / Ezira Sitt – HI
Ollie Richardson / Dan Hasselschwert – OR
Ramon Navarro / Christian Merrello - CHI
Titus Kinimaka / Kalani Vierra - HI
Zach Wormhoudt / Jake Wormhoudt – CA

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: