Perfect tube rides at the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013

August 17, 2013 | Surfing
Jeremy Flores: a Teahupoo tube master

The Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 saw flawless three-to-five foot (1.5 metre) barrels pushing surfers into Round 3, at the Teahupoo reef.

Mick Fanning earned a crucial heat win towards his 2013 ASP World Title campaign, besting lethal wildcard Ian Walsh in the dying moments of their Round 3 heat. In need of an excellent ride with the clock ticking down, the natural-footer dropped into a flawless 10 point ride.

"My heart was in my mouth. I was looking at waves and Ian had priority and played a smart heat. You're looking for a special wave out there, but they're all special. I was just lucky and stoked to get that one", says Fanning.

Kelly Slater immediately followed Fanning's efforts with an excellent Round 3 heat, posting a near-perfect 18.97 out of 20 heat total while defeating wildcard Anthony Walsh.

"I think Anthony is one of the best barrel riders in the world. He's dangerous out there and spends a lot of time out here. He's not a guy you want to draw early and you expect to surf against him later in the event", revealed Slater.

Jeremy Flores continued to cement his reputation today as one of the best tube-riders on the planet, besting Brett Simpson, with a near-perfect 19.33 to Simpson's excellent 17.10. Later, he would eliminate Damien Hobgood.

"I think the only 10s I've had have been at Teahupoo. Every year we come, it's one of the best events in terms of waves. Tahiti is paradise and it's one of my favorite waves in the world. It's perfect and terrifying at the same time, even when it's small", adds Flores.

John John Florence got the day's second perfect 10 point ride for a heaving barrel and backing up the ride up with a 9.10 to surpass Miguel Pupo.

"That 10 was one of those lucky wide ones. To get those wide ones, you have to be so close to peak to get the wave and I was over far enough to get it", concludes Florence.

Jordy Smith, Josh Kerr, Adrian Buchan and Kai Otton have also secured a place in Round 4 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 | Round 3 Results

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.90 def. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 17.70
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 17.87 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 15.60
Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) 18.53 def. Kieren Perrow (AUS) 17.83
Heat 4: John John Florence (HAW) 19.10 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 11.13
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 17.03 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 16.27
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) 17.83 def. Ian Walsh (HAW) 17.60
Heat 7: Kelly Slater (USA) 18.97 def. Anthony Walsh (AUS) 16.23
Heat 8: Kai Otton (AUS) 16.43 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 16.27

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 | Round 3 Remaining Match-Ups

Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Alain Riou (PYF)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: