Standlick and Nichol conquer 2009 NSW Open Surfmasters Titles

July 5, 2009 | Surfing

Perth Standlick

As the curtain closed on the 2009 NSW Open Surfmasters Titles, five more prestigious state titles were awarded today as scores soared high at Werri Beach.

Having seen the best 200 age surfers congregating upon the Kiama region over the last four days, memorable performances and epic conditions headlined the entire event – none more so than Open Women's champion Brittany Nichol (Cabarita, NSW).

“I’m so stoked,” she said after defeating Jess Hickson (Boomerang Beach, NSW), Melissa Sherringham (Wamberal, NSW) and Paige Houden (Balgowlah, NSW), who finished second, third and fourth respectively.

“Today’s victory is definitely one of the biggest of my career.”

Claiming her first NSW Open Surfmasters Title, Nichol will always remember this day – dropping her first ever perfect 10-point ride.

“I’ve been surfing for seven years and after all this time I finally claimed a perfect 10.”

Thriving in the increased swell, Nichol threw down her most memorable competitive performance of her short, fledgling career.

After an extremely success 2009 thus far Nichol now turns her attention to the ASP World Qualifying Series where she will contest the US Open in the next few weeks.

“This result gives me a heap of confidence going into the rest of 2009.”

As conditions continued to provide near-perfect, two metre walls over the final day, the best surfers in the state went ballistic – throwing down a plethora of excellent scores, as they searched for qualification to the Country Energy Australian Surf Festival.

Open Men’s champion Perth Standlick (Bondi, NSW) had it all to do with a mere two minutes left on the clock in a grandstand finish - one which will be remembered for some time to come.

Defeating Josh Fuller (Cabarita, NSW), Ty Watson (Currarong, NSW), Joe Sear (Merewether, NSW) who finished second, third and fourth respectively, Standlick had it all to do as the clock wound down.

After accruing a total heat score of 13.00 (out of a possible 20), Standlick and his fellow finalists will now go onto represent NSW at the Country Energy Australian Surf Festival in August.

The Hudson brothers of Port Macquarie (Grant and Wayne) were upstaged by Northern Beaches dynamo Ricardo Ortiz (Newport, NSW) in the over 28’s final as Ortiz continued an amazing day of massive scores and critical surfing.

Accruing a massive 16.00 (out of a possible 20) in the final, Ortiz was well and truly the well deserved victor.

In the Over 35’s division it was former ASP World Tour stalwart Toby Martin (Dee Why, NSW) claimed his first ever NSW Open Surfmasters Title after 15 years of professional competition, doing it in style with an impressive total heat score of 16.00 (out of a possible 20).

NSW Open Surfmasters Titles Results

Open Men
1. Perth Standlick (Bondi, NSW)
2. Josh Fuller (Cabarita, NSW)
3. Ty Watson (Currarong, NSW)
4. Joe Sear (Merewether, NSW)

Open Women
1. Brittany Nichol (Cabarita, NSW)
2. Jess Hickson (Boomerang Beach, NSW)
3. Melissa Sherringham (Wamberal, NSW)
4. Paige Houden (Balgowlah, NSW)

Over 28’s Men
1. Ricardo Ortiz (Newport, NSW)
2. Grant Hudson (Lake Cathie, NSW)
3. Wayne Hudson (Lake Cathie, NSW)
4. Joel Gribble (Terrigal, NSW)

Over 35’s Men
1. Toby Martin (Dee Why NSW)
2. Dan Dignam (Woonona, NSW)
3. Stu Gooch (Caringbah, NSW)
4. Mick Barberie (Ballina, NSW)

Over 35’s Women
1. Sandra English (Budgewoi, NSW)