Portuguese surfers battle for the Liga Meo Pro Surf

March 15, 2012 | Surfing
Frederico Morais: Portuguese surf fleet member

The 2012 Portuguese Surfing Nationals will get started at Ericeira, Ribeira d'Ilhas, on the 16th March. The Liga Meo Pro Surf is a five-stage surf contest kicking off in the Portuguese World Surfing Reserve.

The best Portuguese surfers will compete in Open and Women's divisions and Ericeira will see the ASP World Tour rider Tiago Pires debuting the Liga Meo Pro Surf.

The national tour takes place in the finest beaches of this Western European country. After the first venue, surfers will head to Carcavelos, Porto/Matosinhos, Figueira da Foz and Peniche.

Aecio Flavio, David Raimundo, Edgar Nozes, Felipe Jervis, Ivo Cação, João Guedes, Justin Mujica, Ruben Gonzalez and Vasco Ribeiro are some of the top Portuguese surfers who will battle for the national title.

There will be a total prize money of 5000€ for each stage and the entire competition will be will be broadcast live online.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: