Pristine performances open the Volcom Pipe Pro 2016

February 1, 2016 | Surfing
Kai Rothman: vertical commitment | Photo: Bielmann

Round 1 has been completed at the Volcom Pipe Pro 2016. All tube riding specialists enjoyed eight-to-ten-foot barrels at Pipeline, on the North Shore of Oahu.

It's the first event of the Qualifying Series (QS) season offering 3,000 points, and an excellent opportunity to start building the Dream Tour foundations. But Pipeline is not a forgiving wave.

Imaikalani deVault may be only 18, but his enthusiasm is contagious. The surfer from Maui advanced through to the next round behind the winner of the 2016 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout, Kaimana Henry.

"It's pretty nerve-wracking, but it's so cool. I've been watching Kaimana (Henry) surf out here since I was like five years old, so to surf a heat with him is just like a dream come true for sure."

"Being from Hawaii is definitely an advantage because you can get into events like this or the Triple Crown; just to get practice out here when other people can't, it's just a huge opportunity to be able to be in this contest, and I'm super happy."

The highest heat score of the event so far belongs to Koa Smith. The Hawaiian collected a total of 18.67 points for two excellent rides.

"I saw that set coming, and I got myself into position. Kiron paddled for that first wave, so it kind of put me more into position, and he's like, 'Oh are you going,' and I was paddling up the face like, 'Oh I don't know,' and then I was just perfectly in the right spot," explained Smith.

"From there I just relaxed through it and had a couple of sketchy chandeliers but it let me out and as soon as I got back out the next wave came. And I was just like 'okay that was fun.'"

Volcom Pipe Pro 2016 | Round of 96 Matchups

Marco Giorgi, Derek Peters, Cahill Bell-Warren, Kai Barger
Koa Smith, Kiron Jabour, Noa Mizuno, Kaito Ohashi
Mikey Bruneau, Griffin Colapinto, Mitchell Parkinson, Parker Coffin
Torrey Meister, Bruce Irons, Makuakai Rothman, Seth Moniz
Gavin Gillette, Jean Da Silva, Chris Foster, Ohno Masatoshi
Hank Gaskell, Dimitri Ouvre, Tim Reyes, Ian Gentil
Brian Toth, Chris Ward, Luel Felipe, Gavin Sutherland
Yago Dora, Takayuki Wakita, Kaito Kino, Takumi Nakamura
Leonardo Fioravanti, Victor Bernardo, Benji Brand, Kona Oliveira
Ian Gouveia, Eala Stewart, Dylan Lightfoot, Takumi Yasui
Leandro Usuna, Kai Mana Henry, Joshua Moniz, Kaimana Jaquias

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers