Pro surfing changes Qualifying Series format

November 6, 2014 | Surfing
Surfing: changing and evolving | Photo: ASP/Will H-S

The Qualifying Series (QS) format will see dramatic changes. The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) has announced that the "Star" series will be renamed and merged in 2015.

Meet the new designations. There are five new QS levels replacing the former seven "Star" events. Numbers reflect points on offer:

"1-Star" to become "QS1000"
"2-Star" and "3-Star" to merge and become "QS1500"
"4-Star" and "5-Star" to merge and become "QS3000"
"6-Star" to become "QS6000"
"Prime" to become "QS10000"

"Our goal with the Qualifying Series is always to ensure the best surfers are advancing to surfing's highest level of competition, the Championship Tour," notes Kieren Perrow, ASP Commissioner.

"The changes being made to next year's Qualifying Series are designed to enhance the process already in place and improve the experience for our athletes, fans and event partners."

Additionally, the champions crowned in the seven ASP regions - Africa, Australia, Europe, Hawaii, Japan, North America and South America - will have priority seeding into QS surfing contests.

The Junior tour will also change. The 20-and-under age division will drop to 18-and under competition beginning in 2016. In 2015, the ASP will become the World Surf League (WSL).

  • As the novel coronavirus Covid-19 nightmare comes to an end in China, local surfers are starting to get back to the beach.
  • Are you daydreaming about a perfect day of surfing and endless rides? Here's a simple step-by-step tutorial on how to draw an ocean wave.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: