Rapid Surf League returns with a bang

June 6, 2019 | Surfing
2019 Jochen Schweizer Arena Pro: hundreds of spectators attended the event | Photo: RSL

Nicolas Marusa and Janina Zeitler have taken out the 2019 Jochen Schweizer Arena Pro, in Munich, Germany.

After a successful debut year, the Rapid Surf League returns for a second season of static wave riding.

The event ran the "cut-to-call" format, a competitive system that ensures that each heat is filled with high-end maneuvers and above average surfing.

From a spectator's perspective, the series provides highly entertaining ocean and skate-inspired tricks performed by talented young guns.

On the women's side, Zeitler and Rosina Neuerer battled it out for first place, but Janina made sure she still reigns her division by executing flawless combinations of frontside reverses and backside reverse 720s.

In the men's final, the big question was whether Marusa would step up his game after occasionally feeling weighed down by nerves and scoring relatively low.

Lukas Brunner and Nicolas traded all types of tricks from backside shuvits and frontside layback snaps to backside air reverses and carve rail grabs.

In the end, there could only be one winner, and the judges' verdict was announced. Nicolas Marusa had been crowned the event's champion.

2019 Jochen Schweizer Arena Pro | Finals

1. Nicolas Marusa
2. Lukas Brunner
3. Lenni Weinhold

1. Janina Zeitler
2. Rosina Neuerer
3. Laura Haustein

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2022 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers