Reef carnage at the 2014 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro

April 5, 2014 | Surfing
Kelly Slater: rail work in progress | Photo: ASP/Kelly Cestari

Kelly Slater survived his Round 2 clash against Nathan Hedge, at the 2014 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro, in Western Australia.

Despite the building swell on offer at Main Break, the world's best surfers had to manage a natural opponent. The local reef claimed boards, fins and flesh.

Slater and Hedge attacked the right-hander with incredible commitment, finishing their rides off on dry reef.

While the pair would exchange waves throughout the 30 minute entirety, Slater's scores of 7.50 and 6.50 would see him advance to Round 3 over Hedge.

Carnage became the underlying theme of the Round 2 bout between C.J. Hobgood and Raoni Monteiro with both surfers doing battle with the dry reef section of the right-hander at Margaret River.

Despite Monteiro's never-say-die approach, Hobgood's backhand (with the utilization of a quad-fin board) proved to be dominant in the morning conditions.

John John Florence and Dion Atkinson continued to favor the right-hander at Margaret River's Main Break, with Atkinson drawing first blood for a blistering forehand assault for an 8.00.

Not to be outdone, Florence destroyed a follow-up wave blending airs, turns, barrels and fin-free maneuvers to the tune of a near-perfect 9.87. From then on, it was all the Hawaiian's heat.

Sebastian Zietz and Matt Wilkinson displayed an electric collage of exchanges. Zietz would unload a barrage of forehand maneuvers while Wilko's backhand repertoire would shine on the chunky Main Break rights.

Zietz would build momentum, however, detonating one of the day's high heat totals of 15.84, securing a Round 3 berth.

2014 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro | Round 2 Results:

Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 14.00 def. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 13.16
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.64 def. Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 6.96
Heat 3: Nat Young (USA) 15.10 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 6.97
Heat 4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.10 def. Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 12.57
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 11.17 def. Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 10.94
Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW) 17.60 def. Dion Atkinson (AUS) 13.43
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) 10.77 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 9.70
Heat 8: Owen Wright (AUS) 13.20 def. Perth Standlick (AUS) 10.00
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.10 def. Mitch Crews (AUS) 11.77
Heat 10: Kolohe Andino (USA) 13.50 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.17
Heat 11: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 15.83 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 12.77
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.03 def. Fred Patacchia (HAW) 12.67

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019