Reef McIntosh wins 2012 Da Hui Backdoor Shootout

January 13, 2012 | Surfing

Reef McIntosh: the Backdoor master

Reef McIntosh has conquered the Da Hui Backdoor Shootout 2012, held in splendid surfing conditions, in Pipeline, Hawaii.

Intense heats were surfed in the famous big wave arena, in eight-foot glassy sets. It was a hard fought victory for the Pipe connoisseur. Bruce Irons, Jamie O'Brien and Marcus Hickman were right behind McIntosh until the last surfed wave.

"I just stopped watching because I thought Jamie, and then John, passed me," McIntosh laughed. "I don't want to ever experience that pressure again."

Reef McIntosh gathered 115.90 points, in a scoring in which three judges score between one and 12 points. The overall score of a single wave is then added up and each surfer's best four scores are tallied for an overall total.

The Da Hui Backdoor Shootout is all about perfect barrel riding. Forget rashies, classic 10-point scales and nice full roundhouse carves. Simply, get pitted. Reef McIntosh cashed in $30,000.

The best team at the Da Hui Backdoor Shootout 2012 was Volcom (Bruce Irons, Marcus Hickman, Dusty Payne, Dean Morrison). The best wave of the contest was awarded to Dusty Payne.

Da Hui Backdoor Shootout 2012 | Results

1st: Reef McIntosh, $30,000
2nd: Jamie O'Brien, $20,000
3rd: Marcus Hickman, $10,000
4th: Bruce Irons, $5000
5th: John John Florence, $2500

1st: Volcom (Bruce Irons, Marcus Hickman, Dusty Payne, Dean Morrison)
2nd: RVCA (Makua Rothman, Billy Kemper, Danny Fuller, Daniel Jones)
3rd: Body Glove (Jamie O'Brien, Alex Gray, Anthony Walsh, Cheyne Magnussen)
4th: Quiksilver (Reef McIntosh, Mark Healey, Fred Patacchia, Kiron Jabour)

Best Wave
Dusty Payne

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2021