Rip Curl Pro Portugal 2012 builds momentum in Supertubos

October 8, 2012 | Surfing
Supertubos: yes, it's Peniche, in Portugal

A barrel festival is being set up in Peniche, Portugal, for the world's best surfers. Supertubos is the key to the 2012 ASP World Tour title.

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal 2012 prepares to play an exciting card in the champions' race. Joel Parkinson, Kelly Slater, Mick Fanning and John John Florence know that the Portuguese waters might decide their fate in the 2012 season.

Dillon Perillo has been awarded the first event wildcard. The 22-year-old Californian surfer is excited to taste the long perfect barrels of Supertubos.

"We just hope we score the same conditions; big, perfect, wave-pool like A-Frame tubes, sunny skies and offshore winds. The early indications are that this is entirely possible", says Perillo.

Thousands of Portuguese fans are expected to show up in the beach to support the local surf star, Tiago Pires. Although Pires has always suffered the pressure of playing in home water, he will surely battle for final glory in Peniche.

Supertubos is one of the best beach breaks in the world. The perfect tubular waves are famous for its lefts but mainly provides epic rights. The best swell direction is from Southwest and the most favorable wind direction is Northeast.

Rip Curl Pro Portugal 2012 | Round 1

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: