Shane Dorian masters the big wave season at Mavericks

April 18, 2012 | Surfing
Shane Dorian: age is everything at Mavericks

Shane Dorian, Carlos Burle, Savannah Shaughnessy and Darryl "Flea" Virostko have taken the 2011/2012 Mavericks Awards.

The event wasn't surfed at Half Moon Bay this year, but there were fearless big wave performances that should be highlighted.

Contest director Jeff Clark, Bruce Jenkins, Matt Ambrose, Grant Washburn and Dick Keating got seated together to analyze hours of video footage and hundreds of still photos taken during the 2011/2012 season at Mavericks.

Most of the winning rides came from two swells: January 4th–5th and February 8th-9th. The stand-out and big winner of the awards was Hawaii's Shane Dorian, taking three of the seven awards, including: Mavericks Barrel of the Year, Mavericks Bomb of the Year, and Mavericks Male Performance of the Year.

Though not many females charge the swell, some do have the courage it takes, and Santa Cruz's Savannah Shaughnessy is one of them. She rightfully took home the Mavericks Female Performance of the Year award.

Shaughnessy stated, "I surfed five days at Mavericks, and that was the only clean day". She went on to say, "But it made all the other days of having to work and not getting many good waves worth it."

Frank Quirarte won the Mavericks Photo of the Year, taken of Santa Cruz's Ken "Skindog" Collins.

"Every year amazing things happen in the water, and it's overdue to reward that," said Collins, who was nominated for a 45-foot "glassy monster" he rode Feb. 8.

2011/2012 Mavericks Awards | Winners

Mavericks Wipeout of the Year - Carlos Burle, Brazil
Mavericks Barrel of the Year - Shane Dorian, Hawaii
Mavericks Bomb of the Year - Shane Dorian, Hawaii
Mavericks Photo of the Year - Photographer Frank Quirarte, Pacifica; Surfer: Ken "Skindog" Collins, Santa Cruz
Mavericks Male Performance of the Year - Shane Dorian, Hawaii
Mavericks Female Performance of the Year - Savannah Shaughnessy, Santa Cruz
Mavericks Legend/Lifetime Achievement Award - Darryl "Flea" Virostko, Santa Cruz