Shane Dorian wins the 2015 Surfing Champions Trophy

August 10, 2015 | Surfing
Shane Dorian: drawing a line | Photo: WSL

Shane Dorian conquered the 2015 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy at Sultan's Point.

The big wave surfer won two divisions (Twin Fin and Thruster) while Dave Rastovich claimed the Single Fin contest, held in spectacular conditions. The Grand Final was tight, but Dorian prevailed by 0.44 points.

"The different divisions were so good, I never knew I could have so much fun riding a twin fin, let alone win a heat against Rasta on one. The waves yesterday were so dreamy; it's been such an amazing event," revealed Shane Dorian.

The Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy is a specialty event sanctioned by the World Surf League in which six surfers compete across three surfing divisions. The top two surfers advance to a Grand Final to decide the overall winner.

Dorian earned himself an automatic entry into the 2016 Surfing Champions Trophy. Dave Rastovich, who won the 2014 edition, enjoyed himself.

"Everyone has been surfing amazingly all week. Seeing everyone surfing on different boards is great. Today was good; Shane and I were just sitting out the back chatting and taking it easy, catching a couple of waves."

"I really feel like it's great that Sofia is in the mix, surfing with the fellas. That sort of thing doesn't happen enough in surfing. Every lineup in the world is always better with women in the water. I think that's one of the best things about this event, great diversity," concluded Rastovich.

2015 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy | Results

Grand Final: Shane Dorian
Single Fin: Dave Rastovich
Twin Fin: Shane Dorian
Thruster: Shane Dorian