Shaun Howe is the 2014 Western Australia surfing champion

June 23, 2014 | Surfing
Shaun Howe: title collector

Shaun Howe is the 2014 Western Australia surfing champion, as the HIF Pro Am Series come to a close at Rottnest Island.

After claiming the Margaret River and Geraldton stages, Howe had already taken the Western Australia State title. However, Harry McPherson had other plans for the last round of competition.

Large surf and strong winds transformed a typically picturesque Rottnest Island, with winds reaching 96 kilometres per hour just prior to the event finals starting.

The blustery winter conditions didn't deter a small but classy field of West Australian surfers from lifting the performance bar in hopes of representing WA at the upcoming Australian Surf Festival.

A breakout performance from 18-year-old McPherson, saw him surf with precision and tact to claim his ever blue ribbon Open Men's win ahead of a determined Simon Hughes.

"I'm really happy with the result, it was very hard work out there and this is my first ever win in the Pro Am Series. I've just returned from Indonesia so adjusting to the weather on Rotto has probably been the hardest part," says Harry McPherson.

In the Open Women's final, Claire Bevilacqua wound back the clock to claim her first WA State Championship in over a decade. The former ASP Women's WCT competitor used every ounce of her experience to post a 14.50 combined total.

Bevilacqua let her natural surfing ability do the talking, defeating a new generation of WA female surfer sincluding Bailee Hastie, Phoebe McGregor and Marnie Durant.

"I love Rottnest and competed here a lot in the Junior Series growing up. I'm motivated to encourage and support the next generation of female surfers in this state and they all pushed me claim this State Championship here today," says Bevilacqua.

Josh Burke the Under 21 Pro Junior State Championships. Burke obliterated any wave that offered a vertical section, posting the weekend's highest combined score of 16.27.

"I'm pretty happy with the win considering the conditions. It was pretty tough going out there but to have swell and claim consecutive titles makes the trip over to Rotto a worthwhile one," adds Josh Burke.

HIF Pro Am Series 2014 | Western Australia State Championships

Open Men State Champion: Shaun Howe (Geraldton)
Open Women State Champion: Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup)
Under 21 Pro Junior State Champion: Josh Burke (Margaret River)
Over 35 Masters State Champion: Paul Paterson (City Beach)
Over 40 Senior Masters State Champion: Jake Paterson (Yallingup)
Over 45 Grand Masters State Champion: Todd Taylor (Yallingup)
Over 50 Legends State Champion: Adrian Shepherd (Alabny)
Over 55 Kahunas State Champion: Ian Darby (North Beach)