Slater and Florence will surf the 2018 Billabong Pipe Masters

October 31, 2018 | Surfing
John John Florence and Kelly Slater: they will surf Pipe | Photo: Cestari/WSL

Kelly Slater and John John Florence will compete at the 2018 Billabong Pipe Masters, in Hawaii.

The duo has recovered from their injuries and confirmed their presence in the last event of the 2018 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) season.

Florence has never won the Pipeline Masters. Slater raised the event's trophy seven times, making him by far the most winning athlete at Banzai Pipeline.

Three surfers remain in contention for the world title. Gabriel Medina, Filipe Toledo, and Julian Wilson will battle it out in the jewel of the "Seven Mile Miracle."

Caio Ibelli, who broke his foot while warming up for the Margaret River Pro, is also back to competition mode. Two additional trialist surfers will earn a ticket to the main event via the Pipeline Invitational.

On the other hand, Adriano de Souza will not be able to put on the jersey. The 2015 world champion suffered a knee injury in Supertubos and will be replaced in Pipeline by Miguel Pupo.

The Billabong Pipe Masters is the third stop on the 2018 Triple Crown of Surfing, which runs from November 12 through December 20 on the North Shore of Oahu.

2018 Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 1 Matchups

Jordy Smith (ZAF), Frederico Morais (PRT), Kelly Slater (USA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Yago Dora (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Joan Duru (FRA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Caio Ibelli (BRA)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Wildcard
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Connor O'Leary (AUS), Wildcard
Wade Carmichael (AUS), Griffin Colapinto (USA), John John Florence (HAW)
Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Michael February (ZAF)
Michel Bourez (PYF), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Conner Coffin (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Kolohe Andino (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Willian Cardoso (BRA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)