Surfer girls invited to the 2010 Nelscott Reef Big Wave Classic

October 27, 2010 | Surfing
Maya Gabeira: she loves huge waves

Nelscott Reef promoters are very proud to announce that a women's exhibition has been added to the 2010 Nelscott Reef Big Wave Classic.

Nelscott Reef announced a format change for 2010, migrating from tow-in to paddle-in only.

Organizers had been interested in the past with including women, but there are not enough female-only tow teams.

Nelscott organizers feel the women that are capable of paddling into the kind of waves Nelscott can produce deserve an opportunity to compete in the same conditions as the men.

Seven of the world's best women have been invited to compete in this years' Nelscott Reef Big Wave Classic.

"We have been pushing for this for years," said event founder John Forse.

"Things finally fell into place this year, as we changed the format to paddle in. We are stoked to see what these women can do out there".

The women's event is possible thanks to the support of two late sponsors, Red Bull Surfing and the Nelscott Reef Surf Shop, who have stepped up to the plate to help with the women's event. Assistance also comes from Jim Beam Bourbon directly from the Big Wave World Tour.

Event organizers also changed the status of the contest to Yellow on Monday morning. The news comes as the Pacific Northwest is getting battered by the first storm of the season, and it is a big one.

Although the winds are over 50 MPH on the coast, the storm is producing some head-turning waves, with swells over 30 Ft. Organizers are eyeing a storm that has the potential to match the energy from this storm and is forecast to develop later in the week. They will continue to monitor that swell over the next few days.

The Nelscott Reef contest is now in its sixth year and is a stop on the Big Wave World Tour. Nelscott Reef is the first annual Big Wave Contest to add a women's event.

Women's Invitees:

Maya Gabeira
Jamila Star
Keala Kennelly
Mercedes Meidana
Savanah Shaugnessy
Jenny Useldinger
Sarah Gerhart

Men's Invitees:

Carlos Burle
Mark Healey
Chris Bertish
Grant'‘Twigg'’ Baker
Peter Mel
Shane Desmond
Greg Long
Shane Dorian
Grant Washburn
Jamie Sterling
Anthony Tashnick
Ramon Navarro
Gabriel Villaran
Tim West
Danilo Couto
Tyler Smith
Shawn Dollar
Travis Payne
Josiah Schmucker
Chad Jackson
Steve Harnack
Rusty Long
Zach Wormhoudt
Tyler Fox