Surfers enter decisive stages of the Cascais Billabong Pro

October 23, 2013 | Surfing
Cascais Billabong Pro: choppy waves

Surfers kept battling the difficult onshore winds and choppy waves, in the second day of the Cascais Billabong Pro, held in Carcavelos.

Gabriel Medina pulled massive aerials out of his bag of tricks to post two 9+ scores and net the highest heat total of the event so far, a near-perfect 18.94 out of 20.

"I feel good, I had some good and bad results this year and I'm just trying my best at every event. I'm having fun here in Portugal, but I always want to win when I enter an event", says Medina.

"I feel honored to be a part of this new group of surfers coming up. This new generation has been doing so good, this is the best time for us and I'm enjoying every minute of it".

Carlos Munoz caused the upset of the day, eliminating Matt Wilkinson and Filipe Toledo, in the second round. Munoz dosed perfectly a mix of aerial maneuvers including a very technical kerrupt flip with some massive backside gauges to take the win.

"I'm really stoked, I've been trying to make heats on the Star tour and I finally made two in a row. That heat was really hard with three WCT guys, I always watch them surf and to be there with them is amazing, let alone beat them", Munoz said.

Jonathan Gonzalez performed two committed turns in the critical sections of the wave to belt an incredible 9.33 out of 10, the second highest score of the event so far.

Jeremy Flores started the day with a convincing performance on his backhand, tagging two huge turns on a set wave to score an excellent 8.00 point ride and advance alongside Jean Da Silva.

"I'm happy to make that heat, it was hard but I got a couple good waves. I haven't had the best season this year, I feel like I'm only starting to get a little better, and I really want to finish this season strong and start off 2014 with a clean slate", concludes Flores.

Upcoming Cascais Billabong Pro | Round of 24 Matchups

Mitch Crews (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Carlos Munoz (CRI), Charles Martin (GLP), Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Damien Hobgood (USA), Maxime Huscenot (FRA)
Jay Thompson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), C.J Hobgood (USA)
Kiron Jabour (HAW), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Alejo Muniz (BRA), Granger Larsen (HAW), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Travis Logie (ZAF), TBD, Adam Melling (AUS)
TBD, Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Thiago Camarao (BRA) 

Remaining Cascais Billabong Pro | Round of 48 Matchups

Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Krystian Kymerson (BRA)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: