Surfers named for the Mavericks Invitational 2013/2014

July 17, 2013 | Surfing
Mavericks Invitational: three in a bowl

The elite list of surfers for the Mavericks Invitational 2013/2014 has been announced.

The waiting period for the Mavericks Invitational 2013/2014 kicks off on November 1st, 2013 and runs through March 31, 2014.

On just 24 hours notice this winter season, 24 big-wave surfers will fly to Half Moon Bay, California, to test their skills and vie for the title of champion of the Mavericks Invitational.

From Alex Martins to Zach Wormhoudt, the group of big wave surfers that will challenge Mavericks is outstanding and it was carefully picked by Jeff Clark, Gary Linden, Darryl Virostko, Greg Long and Shawn Dollar.

"We’re all stoked to be back for another year. The 2013-14 season looks promising, with a lot of positive changes made for the competitors and fans. The perfect contest day we’re looking for is typically a northwest groundswell between 18 and 20 feet (translating into waves faces of 30- to 40-feet)", explains Clark. 

The contestants receive the famous green light alert and have approximately 24 hours to arrive for the event. Organizers have secured the permit from the San Mateo County Harbor District for this year and through 2016.

The legendary Mavericks surf break is located half mile offshore at Pillar Point Harbor, just 20 minutes south of San Francisco. Peter Mel will be defending the Mavericks Invitational 2012/2013 title.

2013/2014 Mavericks Invitational | Competitors

Alex Martins  (Brazil)
Anthony Tashnick  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Ben Wilkinson  (Australia)
Carlos Burle  (Brazil) 
Chris Bertish  (South Africa) 
Colin Dwyer  (Pacifica, CA) 
Dave Wassell  (Hawaii)
Grant Baker  (South Africa) 
Grant Washburn  (San Francisco, CA)
Greg Long  (San Clemente, CA)
Jamie Sterling  (Hawaii)
Ken Collins  (Santa Cruz, CA) 
Kohl Christensen  (Hawaii) 
Mark Healey (Hawaii) 
Nathan Fletcher  (San Clemente, CA) 
Nic Lamb  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Peter Mel  (Santa Cruz, CA)
Rusty Long  (San Clemente, CA)
Ryan Augenstein  (Santa Cruz, CA) 
Ryan Seelbach  (San Francisco, CA)
Shane Dorian  (Hawaii) 
Shawn Dollar  (Santa Cruz, CA) 
Tyler Fox  (Aptos, CA)  
Zach Wormhoudt  (Santa Cruz, CA)

2013/2014 Mavericks Invitational | Alternates

1. Shane Desmond (Santa Cruz, CA)
2. Danilo Couto (Brazil)
3. Derek Dunfee (San Diego, CA)
4. Kelly Slater (Cocoa Beach, FL)
5. Tyler Smith (Santa Cruz, CA)
6. Frank Solomon (South Africa)