Taj Burrow claims the 2016 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy

August 15, 2016 | Surfing
Taj Burrow: getting airborne at Kuda Huraa, Maldives | Photo: Sean Scott

Taj Burrow might have left World Surf League's Championship Tour (CT) too early, but he has not lost his competitive nature yet. The Australian won the 2016 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy, at Kuda Huraa.

Burrow narrowly defeated Shane Dorian in the decisive Thruster division. The former CT competitor used his experience in the shoulder-high waves, and let his fins free in the critical sections.

"Sultans is just such a fun rippable wave, and to surf with one of my childhood heroes, Shane Dorian, in the final was like a dream come true. I was so nervous in both of those finals - Shane was ripping so hard and just not falling off, so it was pretty nerve-racking," explained an ecstatic Taj Burrow.

"It's been so amazing here on Kuda Huraa. It's funny because everyone talks about how chilled out this event is but we're all competitive deep down, and as soon as we paddle out, we're in it to win it."

Shane Dorian, who won last year's edition, conquered the Twin Fin division, while Burrow grabbed two wins in the Maldives - the Thruster and the Single Fin competitions. Legendary free surfer Rob Machado finished third overall at Kuda Huraa.

2016 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy | Results

1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 17.84
2. Shane Dorian (HAW) 17.33

Twin Fin
1. Shane Dorian (HAW) 16.24
2. Jamie O'Brien (HAW) 14.00

Single Fin
1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.94
3. Rob Machado (USA) 14.00

Overall Rankings
1. Taj Burrow
2. Shane Dorian
3. Travis Logie
3. Rob Machado
4. Jamie O'Brien
5. Iboo Areef
6. Bethany Hamilton