Taj Burrow claims 2017 Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy

August 14, 2017 | Surfing
Taj Burrow: stoked to be back to competitive surfing | Photo: Bennett/WSL

Former Championship Tour (CT) campaigner Taj Burrow has taken out his second consecutive 2017 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy.

The Australian veteran, who had already won the twin-fin division, concluded his performance in the pumping right-hand reef of Sultans with a win over free surfer Rob Machado in the thruster final.

"I would have retired earlier if I knew this is what life would be like. I'm so stoked I got to come back here after a win last year. The waves were cooking for this whole event," said Burrow.

"Everyone in this event surfs so amazingly. I really had to surf out of my skin to win this thing. If I do get to come back next year, I'll be over the moon. It's definitely one of the sickest events on the planet."

Rob Machado finished runner-up in the specialty event sanctioned by the World Surf League, but he can say he won the iconic single-fin division and was the only surfer to participate in all three finals.

"I was stoked to share the final with another goofy-footer. It was actually pretty unbelievable that it ended up like that. I shaped a new board for this event, which was easy as I knew what kind of wave we'd be surfing," added Machado.

2017 Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy | Finals

Thruster Division
1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 16.73
2. Rob Machado (USA) 14.93

Twin-Fin Division
1. Taj Burrow (AUS) 16.67
2. Rob Machado (USA) 14.80

Single Fin Division
1. Rob Machado (USA) 15.67
2. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.33