Taj Burrow: great win at Steamer Lane

Taj Burrow has conquered the O'Neill Coldwater Classic 2012, after defeating Matt Wilkinson at Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz, California.

"I really wanted to win another event this year, especially since I'm out of the race for the title," Burrow said. "That's pretty depressing, but I'm really happy that it just fell in to place. To get two-wins in a year, I've only done that once."

Massive upsets have raised the temperature for the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour title race. Kelly Slater lost in Round 5 and Joel Parkinson couldn't pass the Quarterfinals.

A nerve-racking final day blasted Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz, in solid five-to-eight foot waves, as the world surfing title contenders tried to win the last critical heats of the year. All eyes were on them.

Despite pulling an incredible, yet incomplete, backside aerial 360 in his Round 5 clash, Kelly Slater could not defeat Adriano de Souza. The Floridian did not find himself in the entire North California event.

"He caught the best waves of the heat. I should've been more picky. I had a wave in the end of the heat to probably win, but it was a little foamy with a jumpy lip", said Slater, who donated his prize money to the Relief Initiative by Waves for Water.

Fortunately for Slater, Joel Parkinson would also suffer a shocking exit against Travis Logie, a surfer struggling to get a good score that would keep in the elite of surfing. US surfers left Steamer Lane before the Quarterfinals.

In the Semifinals, two Aussies, Logie and Bourez. It is best result of the year for Wilkinson and a ticket to ride the Dream Tour, in 2013. Taj Burrow played an active patience game against Travis Logie to deserve a spot in the final. Wilko blasted his Semifinal against Bourez by scoring 17.73 points.

The Billabong Pipe Masters 2012 will decide and crown the new world surfing champion. Joel Parkinson, Kelly Slater or Mick Fanning? The perfect, heaving top-to-bottom barrels will pick the best of the year.

O'Neill Coldwater Classic 2012 | Final

Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.10 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 11.70

Top Stories

It's hard to find a secluded surf break these days. But when it seems impossible to be alone and surf with your thoughts, magic happens.

What is a surf park? There are various types of surf parks. The most common are outdoor surf pools.

Franco Diaz rides dunes like surfers ride waves. Meet the Chilean sandboarder who draws unique lines in the world's driest desert.

It's one of the best breaks in the surfing paradise of the Mentawai Islands. Welcome to Lance's Right, one of Indonesia's most perfect waves.